My First Blog, My First Submissions

And here it all starts….

I hope I can always look back and be happy about this being my first blog – and that anyone who reads this doesn’t find this foolish! I guess this is a feeling shared by everyone, writing for the first time – but I can’t escape it! 🙂

Well, going on – I’ve finally gathered my courage and decided to get started on the blog – which, for now, I have created especially so that I can give submissions to some card making challenges that I have been craving to – well, submit cards to!

And last night I suddenly had a couple of ideas of these two cards-

IMG_1192

This card, I dedicate to my lovely sister. She is THE special existence in my life.

It uses color paper for base, pattern paper from the DCWV Fresh Floral Stack, and sequins. A lot of sequins.

My First Blog, My First Submission (close up 1)

I first pasted the color paper and the pattern paper on some card stock – so that they get some weight. I fuzzy cut the window, then lightly outlined the window on the color card stock using a pencil. I placed the sequins (bought from a local store) randomly on the color card stock so that they covered the outline and then erased the outline.

My First Blog, My First Submission (close up 2)

I stamped the sentiment from Micia – You are special stamp set. Then adhered the patterned card stock on the color card stock. Finally adhered the whole thing on a white card base. And then I outlined the card base with a dashed line, using a yellow sketch pen.

I am submitting this card to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Not So Mellow Yellow! challenge.

The second card- I dedicate to myself 🙂 And why not? Its to commemorate this – my first blog and my first step into the world of card submissions! Go, me!!

My First Blog, My First Submission

Well, I  had a completely different image and process in my mind – and the completed card, though not way off, is definitely different. But, I like it! 🙂

On the top piece, I applied some gesso on the Garden Fronds stencil from Memory Box. Then I water colored it with some shades of yellow I had. Now, the plan was to stop here, but it looked kinda plain to me – so I thought of adding a border around the stencil with my sketch pen. I started with a light brown, but unfortunately, it dried out in between, and I had to finish the rest with my dark brown. And that was too dark. I thought of reducing the color’s depth by spraying it with some water after I was done – and this is the end result. Some of the water and color also moved on top of the gesso – which I wanted to stay white, so I painted again on top of that with some white acrylic paint.

My First Blog, My First Submission (close up 4)

After this I adhered the piece prepared earlier on the card base. I added 3+3 sequins of gold and brown. And glued a piece of twisted ribbon to complete the card. I then adhered the top piece on some pattern paper cut from the DCWV The Foiled Elegance stack. I got a second, bigger piece of card stock and painted the same set of water colors. Then adhered the above pieces on this.

My First Blog, My First Submission (close up 3)

I finally got some brown color paper, adhered it on the card base. I laid the above piece at an angle, and drew an outline using pencil. The sentiment is from the Butterflies In Spring stamp set from Micia and is gold embossed.

And so it ends.. Thanks for looking! 🙂

6 thoughts on “My First Blog, My First Submissions

  1. Congratulations on your first blog and such beautiful cards…I can’t wait to see more of your lovely work! Thank you so much for sharing your project and for joining us over at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog… x

  2. Pingback: Color and Shine! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  3. Pingback: Blog Anniversary Celebration! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

