Embossing Paste and Watercolor and Using up Scraps

Just the other night I dreamed about this fantastic card – using watercolors and some black ink. It was so vivid, and I remember thinking, even in my sleep, that I had to remember this and make it as soon as I get the chance – or at least jot it down somewhere so that I don’t forget it. And guess what – I didn’t remember the half of it when I woke up! (Arrrghh!!) The only thing I remembered was, yes, that it had watercolor and black ink! 😀

Well, instead, I have brought to life two of the ideas that I had while awake!

The first one is using up parts left-over pieces from another card I had made for a friend’s birthday. I use the term parts, not scraps (even though the title does!) here, since they weren’t exactly scraps – I had known that I can use them to make another card as they were – you’ll know when you see the card below –

Embossing Paste and Watercolor and Using up Scraps 1

Yes, I am talking about the pattern paper! I had cut them from three different pieces, such that they overlapped when cutting and so, after making two cards, I still have one more set to make a fresh card from! Howzzat! 🙂

Embossing Paste and Watercolor and Using up Scraps 1 (close up 1)

I have water-colored the grey part in the background since I didn’t have any of the same color. The butterflies are sequins! Yeah, big, butterfly sequins! 🙂 The only thing I am sad about here is that the ribbon has stuck a bit wavy. 😦

Embossing Paste and Watercolor and Using up Scraps 1 (close up 2)

The second card is using embossing paste with watercolor over it.

As usual, what I really thought of was different (though not completely off). I had thought of using the modelling paste and applying some gold ink on top of it. I also thought of adding a few drops of red here and there. The only thing I didn’t think of was the color of the card base. And there starts the story!

Embossing Paste and Watercolor and Using up Scraps 2

After I completely dried up the modelling paste and added the gold on top, I realized that it wasn’t looking that good and instantly realized that I should have used a black card base! 😦 Well, as one of my favorite stamper always says, don’t throw anything, improvise! And so I did. I painted over the entire thing in black watercolor. I saw that the gold pigment ink hadn’t dried and was actually coming off here and there! Oh, how much worse could it get!

Embossing Paste and Watercolor and Using up Scraps 2 (close up 1)

But while it was drying, I realized that it wasn’t actually looking that bad, and decided to add some red (to all that mess!). When the entire thing dried out, I even saw that the gold had spread out throughout and had made the entire surface shimmery (you can barely see that in the photo)! Wow! Yay!

Embossing Paste and Watercolor and Using up Scraps 2 (close up 2)

I had to trim the sides a bit. And then I started wondering about what to place the piece on. Finally decided on a gold border and gold sprayed white card base – used gold acrylic paint for both. And I actually love how it has turned out! 🙂

On to the next idea! 🙂 Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

