CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 132

Its really so hard to think about how to make a card for these challenges. And looking at the cards the design team, though do get me inspired to make one, also drag me down, since in my head, I already know that I can’t beat any of them! Ah, but practice does make one perfect! Maybe a few years down the lane, even I might do something that would surprise myself!

But for now, I’ll make do with this card 😉

CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 132

The challenge – CFC132 – “Create a Guy card with the following catch…you can’t use kraft as a color at all, AND you have to include some sort of ribbon.”

And somehow, the chevron pattern ribbon I had stuck in my mind. I dug up all the pattern paper I had to see which one would match the ribbon. And finally used one from DCWV. When I finished, the piece was looking too – plain. I thought of adding something extra – and used the stencils. These are stencils we have at home since the time I went to school. In fact, I don’t even remember if I’ve ever used them in my school-days! Nevertheless, they have finally been put to some use 🙂

CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 132 (close up 1)

I traced out the sentiment between each ribbon I had pasted on the piece and drew a star between each repeated word (not many repetitions there, though!) using color pencils. And finally traced the main sentiment piece also using the same stencil and a lighter color pencil and traced it with a black marker.

CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 132 (close up 2)

I also added the bow after adhering the piece to the card base.

I am glad I could use the ribbon for both the background and as the main piece in this card. 🙂 Its made me think of a new way of using ribbons!

Thanks for looking!

3 thoughts on “CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 132

  1. Wow, that ribbon is awesome – such vibrant colours, yet still perfectly masculine! Thanks for playing along with the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 😉

Leave a Reply

