Embossing + Watercolor

These days, watercoloring being a very popular technique, I have been seeing many card makers use a technique where they first use embossing to get the outlines of an image and then use watercoloring on top. Of course, not necessarily watercoloring – even distress inks or inktense pencils. ๐Ÿ™‚

Me, I like using watercolors as much as possible – this is for two purposes – one, I like watercolors myself, and two, I want to improve myself in the field! ๐Ÿ™‚ So this time’s card is using the same technique – embossing + watercolor.

Watercolor + embossing

I first white embossed Hero Arts Night & Day Flowers on a piece of white card stock. Then I started watercoloring on top. Once done, I felt that the white background was pretty plain and felt the need to add something to the background. That’s when I started using the distress inks.

Watercolor + embossing (close-up)

I added different inks to form different layers – Mustard Seed, Salty Ocean and Pumice Stone. When I was adding ink, I accidentally added the inks on top of some of the flowers. This led me to recolor all the flowers – well, they were looking a bit lighter anyway :P. Once done, I trimmed the sides a bit so that I could adhere it on top of a white card base and have some of the sides showing. I adhered this piece on top the card base using foam tapes.

I cut a strip of white card stock and added the handwritten sentiment on top and added a few dots of nail polish (that’s right, nail polish! :D) beside it. I adhered this strip at the bottom portion of the piece.

Although I didn’t expect it, the embossing absorbed the watercolor and the white embossing was replaced by some shiny blue and green embossing! But since it gave a lovely effect, I didn’t mind it that much! ๐Ÿ™‚ And the nail polished complemented the shine very well! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Looking forward to more watercolor pieces… Thanks for looking! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

