Using Up Pattern Paper

When you buy a stack of pattern paper, there’s always one disadvantage that you can’t escape – patterns that you don’t like! Most of the pattern paper stacks I own are like this – I like most of the papers – some of them are good enough to be turned into cards on their own! But they do have some that I have absolutely no idea to do with either! 😦

Here’s one of my attempts to make use of such pattern paper –

Multi-layer card

There are a lot of elements in this card – I must have used up most of the basic techniques in the card making world!

I used the pattern paper cut to card base dimensions and adhered it directly on top.

For the next layer, I first added some Elderberry Memento ink on top of a Zigzag embossing folder, then embossed a piece of scrap card stock using the same. I adhered this on the previous layer using foam tapes.

Multi-layer card (close-up)

For the next layer, I took a piece of vellum and scratched some diagonal lines using sketch pens – I mainly used shades of blue and pink. This, I spread out using some water and brush, like you would with watercolors. . Although using the water warped the vellum a lot (it became a ‘U’ shape!!) I just let it be.

The colors look actually pretty bright on the right side up, but they look like pastel colors on the back, and that’s what I used as the top. I white embossed the meadow using Hero Arts Embossing Meadow stamps and Zig Embossing Powder. I adhered this directly on top of the previous layer. I then added a frame using a grey sketch pen.

Finally added a strip of paper with the sentiment, with one side cut diagonally.

Thanks for looking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

