Retro Sketches Challenge #128

This is going to be my very first submission to Retro Sketches Challenge. I had been looking at a few of their previous challenges and took a liking to the innovative sketches – some simple and some pretty hard – but challenging, nevertheless. I have not been able to add any submissions for the previous few challenges, but now am good to go!

So, here’s my submission –

First Submission to Retro Sketches Challenge

I had the idea set in my mind since last night – the first layer would be a pattern paper with distressed effects, and the second one would have a flower on top. Though my initial idea was to make the flower 3d, I stuck with the 2d flower once I saw this stamp! 😉

I used Inktense pencils to color up the flower, trying to add some shading effects. I also had the idea of using some thread and button on the left side – I used some green embroidery thread and some die cut cardboard buttons as embellishments.

I also cut out some pattern paper for the thin long strip, and a piece of the pattern paper I had used as the first layer for lying it on the top piece. For the sentiment, I added some Antique Linen distress ink on a small piece of paper where I had stamped the sentiment. I cut both the pattern paper stripe and the sentiment stripe diagonally.

I finally adhered all the pieces together.

Retro Sketches Challenge #128 (close-up)

Somehow the photos make the kraft card stock look two different colors! Trust me, they aren’t two different projects!! 😀 I would say the real piece actually matches the color in the first image!

As mentioned before, I am submitting to the Retro Sketches Challenge #128

Retro Sketches Challenge #128

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

