Art Journal: Leaves and Butterflies

This time’s art journal is inspired by pastel colors. I wanted to try some mellowed colors as opposed the some of my older works.

Art journal: Leaves and Butterflies

I tried adding some gesso first – this gives a different feel to almost everything! Even the way the ink sticks is different. 🙂

Art journal: Leaves and Butterflies (close-up 1)

I used a stencil to get the butterflies and started inking in rainbow pastel colors. After this I added some leafy twigs in a couple of shades of green. Adding the dye inks on the gesso brings down the depth of the colors to quite some degree. Also, the way they spread out is quite different – it really feels like the color is flowing and sliding across the page. Its really beautiful! 🙂

Art journal: Leaves and Butterflies (close-up 2)

After this, I stamped up some circular images and some flowers on the page, using a few darker colors.

Once I stamped the images, I started feeling that I couldn’t see the butterflies at all, since the background for the thin butterfly lines was white. I wanted to darken the colors on the butterfly. So, I filled up the butterflies using some Inktense pencils using almost the same shade as the pastel below. This also brought a pretty contrast against the similar colored pastel background.

Art journal: Leaves and Butterflies (close-up 3)

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

