A Flower Garden

Hello!

I have been looking into the stamps I own lately – and regretfully, realized – that I haven’t been using all the stamps that I have! I do have some splendid stamps – but it seems like I have been going over new ones, without thinking much about how to use the ones I’ve already got! Really sad and bad!

So, I am making an attempt to use those rarely-used stamps now. Here is one such attempt –

Sping Garden

I used the ‘Butterflies In Spring’ stamp set from Micia – and may I proudly declare that I have used a single stamps set in making this card! 😀

I started by stamping the set of three flowers – inking the flowers alternatively, using Black soot distress ink. I also stamped the butterfly, the trailing dotted line and the sentiment using the same ink. After this, I started coloring the flowers and butterfly using sketch pens.

Sping Garden (close-up 2)

Once done, I realized that I had done nothing for the background – it was looking way too plain! I therefore took some Inktense pencils in shades of blue and green and started coloring at a diagonal, shading the upper portion blue and the lower one in green. Initially I had thought of using this for water-coloring, but after the initial shading, I felt that the lines were bringing in some texture themselves, and so left it at that.

Sping Garden (close-up 3)

Once finished, I thought that I needed some kind of background on which I could lie this piece. I started stamping the circles from the stamp set in Bahama Blue and London Fog Memento inks, overlapping the pattern here and there.

I finally foam mounted the piece on the background piece. This completed my card!

Thanks for looking!!

Leave a Reply

