Happy Diwali!!

Ah, its again the time of my favourite festival! I love Diwali – I love setting up the ‘diya’s around the house, love setting up the ‘gudu dipa’, and of course love the fact that I can stay home because of the holidays! 😛

And so, I spent most of my holiday yesterday making diwali cards for my family (yes, I started making the cards after diwali started, shame on me! :P) I made three cards –

Diwali Card 1

For the first card, I produced a stencilled background using distress ink, sprayed it with perfect pearls mixed water to add a little pearly sheen to it and foam mounted it on the card base.

Diwali Card 1 (close up)

For the ‘diya’, I fuzzy cut some paisley shapes for the flame, and a lamp shape, added distress ink for the lamp and the flame. I then put on some glue in a flame shape and sprinkled some red glitter on top. I left it it dry before brushing off the excess and adhering it on the top. I added some pearl spots using a pearl pen for the lamp. and also added some glitter using Wink Of Stella pen.

Diwali Card 2

For the second card, I dry embossed a background and swiped some dark yellow ink, coloring only the embossed area.  Since the color was too bright, I was afraid it might overpower the center piece, the diya, and so I cut a piece of vellum of the same size and adhered it directly on top of it, before foam mounting it on the card base.

Diwali Card 2 (close up)

For the ‘diya’, again, I fuzzy cut some paisley shapes, added distress ink for the lamp and the flame. But this time, I cut two paisley shapes for the flame, colored them and glued the smaller one on top of the bigger one. I decorated the lamp using some gold glitter and and the flame using Wink Of Stella pen. I adhered these directly on the card top.

Diwali Card 3

For the third card, I cut a piece of pattern paper and applied dots from the pearl pen and smeared it across the paper.

Diwali Card 3 (close up)

I used a stencil to add some embossing paste directly on the pattern paper to create the lamp and the flame shapes. Once this was dry, I colored the lamp using some copper acrylic paint and the flame, some gold acrylic paint, which gave a beautiful shimmer. I then outlined the flame using the gold glitter.  Finally, I foam mounted this on the card base.

I had a lot of fun making these cards! And my family loved them too! Hope you liked them…and of course, I wish you a very happy Diwali!! May the festival of lights bring joy and serenity to your lives. 🙂

Thanks for looking!

2 thoughts on “Happy Diwali!!

Leave a Reply

