A Watercolor Sunset

Hi all! This time I tried an experiment – using watercolor on modelling paste. ๐Ÿ™‚ And a secret ingredient to bring out some glitter and shine on my card!

Its been quite some time since I did some shopping for craft supplies. Me new stash, consists of some products which have been out for some time – but I was always dilly-dallying about whether to purchase them or not..and I finally did! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunshine/Sunset

One of these products is Time Holtz Layered Stencil Rays. I used this with the modelling paste to get some sunshine on my card stock. After letting it dry completely, I started watercoloring it using some basic shades of red, orange and yellow. Since a lot of water was used, the surface warped a lot, but I let it dry as is.ย Once dry, Iย adhered it to some black paper, which stuck a little off the sides, and adhered this whole piece on the card base.

Sunshine/Sunset (closeup)

I drew and fuzzy cut some thick cardstock in bird shapes. added glue in a thin layer and added some black distress glitter and let it dry. In the meantime, I added the secret ingredient – nail polish! Yes, I added some really fluid silver glitter nail polish on the embossed areas of the sunshine, to add…well, shine! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย And after the birds were dry, I curved the wings a little and adhered the birds on the card base.

I am submitting this card to the Muse Challenge

Thanks for looking!

9 thoughts on “A Watercolor Sunset

  1. Such abeautiful card. How clever using the nail polish, really finished the card off perfectly. And your black bird is brilliant. Very very talented, congratulations.

Leave a Reply

