Double Inking and Embossing

Hello!

I have been so engrossed in trying something different for so long that I have forgotten the basics! 😀 Well, returning back does feel really good! 🙂

The card I made this time has the most simple technique ever – embossing! But, of course, with a little twist! 😉

RIC #71 - Submission 1

I started with Tim Holtz Burlap stencil and applied some white pigment ink on. After this was partially dry (mainly because I completely lack patience! ;)) I covered it with some scrap paper to suck up the rest of the ink. I then sponged some Bundled Sage distress ink lightly over the entire surface. This brought out a beautiful texture on the card surface. 🙂

After embossing this using the Spellbinders Flora embossing folder, I sponged the embossed area using Mowed Lawn distress ink, concentrating more ink on the leaf base. The burlap texture still remains and can be seen clearly in this close up image! 🙂

RIC #71 - Submission 1 (close up 1)

After cutting about an inch off one of the longer sides, I adhered this panel directly on one side of the card base. I cut out a couple of strips of pattern paper from the Teresa Collins ‘He Said She Said’ and from a DCWV stack (whose name I forgot). I inked the plain green paper on one side only with Mowed Lawn ink and adhered the pattern papers next the adhered embossed panel.

I picked a piece of scrap card stock and sponged Bundled Sage ink all over and stamped the sentiment, which I picked from the Winnie and Walter ‘Big Bold You’ stamp set, using Memento Tuxedo Black ink (I actually inverted the exclamatory mark to get an ‘i’, since there was none in the the set! :P). I fuzzy cut the round corners and lightly sponged the side using Moved Lawn and foam mounted it on the card.

RIC #71 - Submission 1 (close up 2)

Finally I punched out some tiny flowers from vellum, added some gold brads in their center and randomly adhered them on the card.

This finished my card!

I am submitting this to the Runway Inspired Challenge #71

Thanks for looking! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Double Inking and Embossing

  1. I love the embossing technique you did in the background! Thanks so much for honoring Oscar de la Renta with us on the Runway!

Leave a Reply

