Focus: Pattern Paper

Hello!

I love pattern papers – but rare are the occasions when I use them! 😦 I get a little miserly when I get the chance to use them and end up making my own backgrounds instead! 😛 Contradicting to this, there are some pattern papers which I have, with which I haven’t the faintest idea what to do! 😀

So, I’ve owned this set of pattern papers called ‘Textures & Finishes’ by DCWV for some time now. Although all the patterns are gorgeous, I’ve only been able to use a few until now (prominently, the gold and silver! ;)) The reason being that I find the patterns themselves to be so powerful, that the other elements in the card need to be as impactful or else, be completely overshadowed! And I wasn’t able to think of anything (so sad!) that would go well with these pattern papers. I thought of various things – starting from die cutting to get a window, to adding a second, inner window of another color, to adding a strip of a monochrome paper to bring down the texture and patterns a little bit..nothing seemed to work! 😦

And that was until now! 😀 I chose this piece of wood design and thought of adding a window where I would show some flowers peeking out. The whole image would, hopefully, be ‘nature’d enough so that one piece would not overpower the other. And I set to work!

Nature Calling

I first die cut a circle shape at one side and then outlined the same on the card base with a pencil. On a scratch paper, I tried the flowers in various colors, and finally decided that darker colors suited along the pattern paper best! I picked out some Memento inks – Rich Cocoa, Cottage Ivy, Elderberry, Nautical Blue, Teal Zeal and Gray Flannel – and started stamping with the Fresh Cut Florals stamp set from WPlus9.

Nature Calling (close up 1)

Once I was done stamping, I adhered the pattern paper over the card base using some foam dots. I also added a white dashed outline all around the pattern paper.

Nature Calling (close up 2)

For the sentiment, I cut out a strip of scrape card stock and stamped the sentiment from the same set in Rich Cocoa and adhered it directly over the pattern paper, assisted by a single foam dot over the floating area.

And that finished my card!

Although my initial idea was to make a few more cards out of this pattern paper, I am taking a rest for now! 😛

Thanks for looking! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Focus: Pattern Paper

Leave a Reply

