Silver on Silver

Hello!

This is one card I had in my mind from some time. In fact, I even almost made it – I assembled everything, and then paused…since I was not happy with it. Since the card was completely silver, there was no contrast at all. And I realized – making a silver-on-silver card is not the same as white-on-white card!! 😦

Coming back to an unfinished project always helps in getting a fresh outlook and a new idea. And this is what my unfinished project turned out like –

Silver On Silver

I cut the frame first, using my square die cut for the window and then WPlus9 Ruler die (i think) for the scallop border below. Since this was a white card stock and I wanted a darker color, I colored the frame using a Prussian Blue Copic marker. I then added the sentiment, a mixture of BoBunny’s Captured, and Winnie & Walter’s The Big, The Bold and The Happy stamp sets and heat embossed them silver.

Silver On Silver (close up 2)

I then adhered the butterfly to the frame only on one side, the side where the butterfly goes inside the frame. After cutting out the peeking wing of the butterfly, I added some foam tape behind the frame. I also added some white thread and tied it into a bow. By the way, the butterfly was a left-over from a previous project here, where I couldn’t use it since I had left my fingerprint on the butterfly while embossing! 😛

Silver On Silver (close up 1)Keeping this aside, I worked on the card base. I stenciled some Brushed Pewter distress paint on ‘Remember & Thenks Chevron” from Basically Essential (I hope it is the right name!). After it dried, I adhered the frame with the butterfly on it, adhered the middle of the butterfly directly on the card base and then added double foam dots on the hanging butterfly wings, so that they would stand up and stick out. Once this was done, I added a few scattered dots of Prussian blue acrylic paint across the card. This finished my card! 🙂

I am submitting this card to Color Me Card Challenge #50 and Muse Card Challenge #97

Thanks for looking! 🙂

16 thoughts on “Silver on Silver

  1. Ashwini wooowww I adore silver and blue card you made this is stunning
    I love that butterfly that Background on white paper and that sentiment in silver…clever use the idea from MUSE challenge and I lovveee this

    I will voting for you sweety…hugs, Monika

  2. What a great card! Your navy frame does provide a perfect contrast to that fabulous silver embossed butterfly! Great use of this week’s colours; thanks for joining us over at Colour Me…! this week.

Leave a Reply

