Happy New Year!

Yes, I know its still a little early for that – but its still a good start, right! 😉

I am beginning to love warm colors – red and orange shades – in my cards. They add such vibrancy to the cards..I just love the effect I hope I don’t end up making the next few cards in the same color – then I would get tired of it! 😛

Well, here’s the first ‘New Year’ card, hopefully in a series of its own!

Happy New Year!

I started by picking a watercolor paper panel, and stamped the sentiment from The Big The Bold and The Happy by Winnie & Walter and also Market Place Alphabet by JustRite using black StazOn ink. I then clear heat embossed a flower field using Blooming Meadow by Hero Arts.

Happy New Year! (close up 1)

I then chose some distress inks – Dried Marigold, Wild Honey and a little bit of Ripe Persimmon. I smushed the inks on the craft mat and sprayed some water. I then picked up the colors on the watercolor paper panel, ensuring that only the bottom part gets colored. I inverted the panel and sprayed some water so that there was some extra flow of colors. Also by this, the colors dripped out a little from the area colored earlier. I did this just a couple of times before I was satisfied. I then left this panel aside to dry.

Happy New Year! (close up 2)

For the background, I picked up some black cardstock. I drew some diagonal lines using a red glitter pen. Although the red color didn’t show up in the end, the glitter did! 😉 And I foam mounted the watercolor panel on top. I then added some black rhinestones as embellishment. This finished my card!

I am submitting this to Runway Inspired Challenge #74

Thanks for looking!

10 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. wooooowww this is stunning my friend …you really catch the color on the Photo Inspiration…this is a winner on my Book…I love your card…happy new year too my dear…if you leave me an answer with address I will send you chocolate from Germany and new years card…do you like chocolate..hugs, Monika

  2. Love your artsy inky background – so vibrant! Thanks for strutting your stuff with us at Runway Inspired Challenge!

Leave a Reply

