Retro Sketches Challenge

Hello!

They have a beautiful sketch at Retro Sketches Challenge this time around, and I decided to take part!

I started this card by selecting my choice of cardstock – I wanted something other than white, and the pattern paper which is tucked behind my main watercolor piece. I selected a zebra pattern paper from DCWV Textures and Finishes stack.

Retro Sketches Challenge #146

I had some small pieces of watercolor paper left from previous projects. On this, I stamped and heat embossed in black the flowers from Altenew Persian Motifs stamp set. I then watercolored the piece, and set it aside to dry. I then cut out the pattern paper and a piece of white card stock, which I would add to layer the watercolor piece. I then adhered the pattern paper and the watercolor piece together.

Retro Sketches Challenge #146 (close up 1)

Before adding the sentiment, I laid out the cut out pieces on the cardstock to be sure of where to stamp the sentiment – I didn’t want it to be hidden out, or be too off to the bottom of the card. After figuring out the best position, I stamped and white heat embossed the sentiment – the stamps are from Hero Arts ‘Its Your Day’ and Winnie and Walter’s ‘The Big, The Bold & The Happy’ stamp sets.

Retro Sketches Challenge #146 (close up 2)

I finally foam mounted the watercolor + pattern paper piece on the white card stock, which I adhered directly on the card base. And my card was ready! 🙂

I am submitting this to Retro Sketches Challenge #146

Thanks for looking!

3 thoughts on “Retro Sketches Challenge

  1. So clever using that sketch Ashwini..and love how you colored the flower..very beautifully done and I guess you are on holiday thats why soo much lovely cards on your blog…I am not celebrate christmas but my mother in law was here three days she came after my hubby or his sister picked her up from the senior home (home for old Oma or Opa who sick and can not take care her or himself)she came for dinner also I have no time to created cards hehehe…I guess you dont celebrate too..am I right….also wish you a great new years and hope we can still be friend in blogland or we can exchange our cards too Ashwini…hugs, Monika

  2. Pingback: Celebrate! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

