ColorQ Challenge #274

Hello!

Somehow, I feel that it’s been some time since I submitted anything to the ColorQ challenge, even though I have participated in the last one! I dunno…. Anyway, today’s card is for the ColorQ, especially.. πŸ™‚
ColorQ Challenge #274

I started with picking up some stamp sets to work with; the inks were already set – Hero Arts Soft Cantaloupe, Memento inks Grape Jelly and Bamboo Leaves. The stamp sets I used areΒ WPlus9 and Petals & Stems and Laurel from Avery Elle, Fresh Cut Florals from.
ColorQ Challenge #274 (close up 1)

I first made a reference copy using all my selected stamps and then proceeded to stamp it on the actual card. The arrangement is based on this pin.

Margaret Berg Art: Pastel+Florals

Although my initial idea was to have a single layer card, by the time I finished stamping, I didn’t like the idea of stamping the sentiment right beside the flowers; besides, I had one more color to go – I hadn’t used the Crumb Cake color yet! And so, I cut the card stock at an angle and kept it ready for mounting on a kraft base.

ColorQ Challenge #274 (close up 2)

Now, the kraft base – I didn’t want it to be plain either, so stamped it with some teeny-tiny mesh from the Chantilly Trim stamp set from WPlus9 using Memento Grey Flannel ink. Now, since the stamped image was so small, I had difficulty in repeat stamping it and the ends got overlapped or got stamped at a distance. Now, I didn’t want to lose the kraft base just because of this! So? Just as (one of my favourites) Jennifer McGruire says, cover up your mistakes! πŸ˜‰ I stamped the image in a random fashion all over the card base, making a new pattern! What fun! πŸ˜€

I then arranged the earlier panel, a little off from the sides, and stamped my sentiment from Laurels stamp set, in Memento Rich Cocoa ink. And then, I foam mounted the panel. That finished my card! πŸ™‚

I am submitting this card to ColourQ Challenge #274.

Thanks for looking!

6 thoughts on “ColorQ Challenge #274

  1. Funny how the things that go wrong can actually make a more interesting card eh? The mesh background looks gorgeous peeping out behind the pretty florals. Love how you’ve stamped the flowers at an angle…it kind of makes the card flow. Thanks for playing along at Colour Q!

Leave a Reply

