CASology Guest Designer!

Hello!

I am so excited about this! After winning challenge 127 in CASology, I was asked to guest design for their challenge 129. I am truly honored (and in shock!! :D). Couldn’t ask for a better start of the year!! Wow!

Guest Designer Badge 2015The CASology challenge this time is NBUS (Never Been Used Stuff) which means we will be trying to use things from our craft supplies that have never been used. And CASology is joining Darnell Knauss for her NBUS challenge on her blog.

Week 129 - NBUSFor my cards, I’ve used my new (and of course, never been used) Spellbinders’ die, Medallion 1. So, presenting my card (or two) –

CASology Guest Designer (1)For the first card I first adhered a piece of color paper and adhered it directly on a card panel using double sided tape. I then die cut this using Spellbinders A2 Curved Matting Basics die. I then centered the Medallion die in the upper portion and die cut it.

CASology Guest Designer (1) (close up)I then stamped the sentiment in Hero Arts white pigment ink using the stamp from Avery Elle Petals and Stems stamp set. And then I foam mounted the panel on the card base. I also adhered a clear rhinestone in the center of the medallion die cut for embellishment.

CASology Guest Designer (2)For the second card, I die cut the medallion from a darker piece of color paper (this was also thicker than the previous one, but still thinner than a card stock).

CASology Guest Designer (2) (close up)After adhering this directly to the card base, I traced the design on the medallion using Glossy Accents and added a pearl in the center. I then stamped the same sentiment in Memento Grape Jelly ink.

Those are my two cards! Though I have submitted only one for the NBUS Challenge, I would certainly like to know which version you liked better!

Thanks for looking! 🙂

28 thoughts on “CASology Guest Designer!

  1. It’s so lovely to be guesting over at CASology with you, Ashwini, and I thank you so much for linking your card over at my NBUS Challenge #3! I am in awe of both versions of the your gorgeous CAS creations, but I think I do like the second one a twinge better because it is unique and that glossy medallion just POPS right off the card in a happy way!! I hope to see you again soon! Hugs, Darnell

    • Thank you so much Darnell! Really, I should be thanking you for that great challenge, which makes us use all those unused stuff!!
      But darn, I should have submitted the second one to your challenge then! 😛 Should keep that in mind for the next challenge! 😉

  2. Congrats on your GD spot! You created such stunning cards! My favorite is the second one because of how the glossy accents make it pop!

  3. Both of these cards are beauties, Ashwini! I love how just changing the shade of purple created two very different cards! One is so soft and peaceful. The second is bold and beautiful! What a great design!
    So happy to have you guest designing with us this week!!! 🙂

    • Thank you so much Melissa! Actually, that was kinda my intention when I went for two colors – I wanted to see the impact each color would bring! And thanks once again for letting me be the guest designer this week! 🙂

  4. Ashwini, WOW! Two amazing cards! I love both versions, and the Glossy Accents was brilliant! So very happy to have you guest designing with us at CASology this week!

  5. Congrats on your GD post Ashwini ! Loved your cards and specially the darker version.I am always in awe of CAS card makers and love your take on different challenges!

    P.S. Loved new look of your blog

    • Thanks a lot Pooja! To tell the truth, even I always wonder how CAS card makers work – I have to really force myself to CAS – Every. Single. Time!! 😀
      And thanks for the new blog look comment! I am surprised you noticed!! Thank you so much! 🙂

  6. These are both so wonderful. Such a detailed and beautiful die. I might prefer the 2nd a little bit–it is more dramatic. But honestly, I loved the first so much when I saw it on the CASology blog. Thanks so much for joining us this week as Guest Designer.

  7. Awesome, awesome impact cards!!!! STUNNING! Thanks so much for joining us this week as the special Guest at CASology!!! So glad that you did!!!

Leave a Reply

