Retro Sketches 148

Another card for today!

I’ve been running a little late for submissions to a couple of challenges. Be it lack of inspiration or time πŸ˜› But I finally for some time today to make a couple of cards and this is my submission to the Retro Sketches challenge #148

Retro Sketches 148I really loved the cards from the DT and decided I had to submit one to the challenge! This is one of the cards where I’ve used a lot of elements to work on – stencils, dies and stamps… and of course distress inks! πŸ™‚

I started with the backgrounds for the card base and the card panel on top. For the panel which I cut using one of the dies from Spellbinders A2 Curved Matting Basics, I picked up the Texture Mesh stencil from Memory Box and placing it at a corner, rubbed in some Moved Lawn andΒ  Broken China distress inks. I then swiped the Peacock Feathers ink pad directly to the sides and also very barely, sponged in some Old Paper.

Retro Sketches 148 (close up 1)For the card base, first masked off the sides about quarter of an inch and then, using a stamp from Country Charms from WPlus9, I stamped the stripes alternatively using Weathered Wood and Shabby Shutters distress inks. I then removed the masks and swiped the corner of Shabby Shutters right beside the empty area to get kind of a line beside the stamped region.

I then made some hearts from the Hearts dies from Lawn Fawn. I swiped the sides of these using Chipped Sapphire and Pine Needles and sponged in Tumbled Glass and Crushed Olive from the sides, leaving the center relatively free, creating a kinda raised illusion for the hearts.

Retro Sketches 148 (close up 2)I finally picked up a couple of washi tapes, applied them on strips of scrap card stock and cut fish tails at one end of them both. For the teal colored strip, I also sponged in some Peacock Feathers to ensure that it’s borders would stand up against the background. I then adhered the stripes on the card panel and foam mounted the hearts on top. I then stamped the sentiment from The Big, The Bold, The Happy from Winnie & Walter in Memento Tuxedo Black on top of the washi tapes and also foam mounted the card panel on top of the card base. I then embellished the card with a button and milky white sequins.

That finished my card (whew!! :D). Here’s the sketch from Retro Sketches –

Thanks for looking! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Retro Sketches 148

Leave a Reply

