Playing with Stencils & Colors

And I am back again with another card!

I keep mentioning that stencils are one of my favourite tools to operate on – and this time I chose one I had in my stack for some time, but haven’t used in quite some time!

Playing with Stencils & ColorsThis is such an easy card! I picked up my Tim Holtz Stripes stencil, Salty Ocean & Moved Lawn distress inks, picked up a piece of sponge, and placing the stencil at an angle, started dabbing the first ink on. I then reversed the direction and dabbed the second ink on. While inking I took care to ink heavily on the side, and lightly while moving to the center. I placed the stencil over a couple of times to achieve the coverage I wanted. Also, I was able to achieve a look of inter-crossing to a degree..:)

Playing with Stencils & Colors (close up)I then punched out a butterfly from my orange texture paper. I then stamped the sentiment from BoBunny Sentiments stamp set in Memento Tangelo ink on a strip of scrap card stock and cut it out. I adhered this using foam dots on the card base and did the same with the butterfly. I then added a pearl on the butterfly. That finished my card!

I am submitting this card to the following challenges:

 CAS(E) This Sketch #106

Just Us Girls Challenge #276

As You See It #70 (I’ve used diagonals , 3 colors and (if that counts) popped up the sentiment!)

070

Thanks for looking!

18 thoughts on “Playing with Stencils & Colors

  1. LOVE this card! Great take on the color challenge, and I think that butterfly is just the perfect final touch. Wonderful CAS card!! Thanks for playing along with us this week at Just Us Girls!

  2. Really great card!! Love the plaid you created! I NEED that stencil! Super pop of color with the butterfly!
    Thanks for joining us this week at Just Us Girls!

Leave a Reply

