Playing with Ombre effects

I am back again…this time with a card I am quite satisfied with! πŸ™‚

I think my love for Distress inks has gone up a notch. I know that these inks are one of the best when when it comes to mixing colors, but the beautiful play of colors in this card made me fall in love with them all over again! πŸ˜€

Playing with Ombre effects
So, I started with applying a three shades of Distress Inks on my card base – I used Tattered Rose, Tumbled Glass & Shabby Shutters – to get get an ombre effect. I then splashed a few dots of watered down black acrylic paint on the opposite corners of the card base.

Playing with Ombre effects (close up 1)
I then cut out a couple of hearts using Lawn Fawn Hearts die from an old book (I am using this die lots now-a-days!!) and colored them in Weathered Wood and Old Paper and then colored the edges a little with Pumice Stone. Keeping these aside, I adhered washi tape on a strip of card stock, cut it to length (or should I say width??) and cut one end in a diagonal.

Playing with Ombre effects (close up 2)
After determining the layout with the pieces, I picked up a couple of black pearl headed needles and pierced the washi tape right behind where I was gonna add the little heart. I then adhered the washi tape using foam tape and the hearts right above it using liquid glue.

I then stamped the sentiment, fromΒ  Hero Arts All Occasions stamp set using Hero Arts black ink. I then colored some sequins black using Copic marker and adhered them randomly on the card base. This finished my card!

I am submitting this to a few card challenges –

NBUS Challenge (my washi tapes and the pearl pin heads are new and never used before)

CASology Week 129 – NBUS

Fusion Challenge:Two Hearts

Inkspirational Challenge (Ombre)

As You See It Challenge #70 (popped up washi tape and hearts, 3 colors & the hearts and the sentiment forming a diagonal)

070

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Playing with Ombre effects

  1. So subtle and so soft, not easy to control the softness, and this is superbly done my dear!!! Thanks for joining us at CASology in the NBUS challenge this week, so glad that you did!!!

  2. So soft and lovely! What a great way to use washi tape! Works beautifully on this card! Those little pins are a great touch! Thanks so much for joining us at CASology again! πŸ˜„

  3. I can see why you fell in love with the DIs all over again, Ashwini! Your background is a sensational blending of inks in dreamy colors! And all your other design elements just elevated your card as you went along until in the end it is out of this world gorgeous!! Thank you so much for linking again to my NBUS Challenge #3!! Enjoy your day!! Hugs, Darnell

  4. This card is so lovely! I love your use of color. The changing color is fantastic. I also really like the text hearts. A great design overall! Thanks so much for playing with us at Inkspirational!
    – Shauna

Leave a Reply

