Art Journal – Inspired

I am back with another page..:)

This time is a creation which I wanted to try for quite some time – in fact, since I saw Shari Carroll make a page for her art journal here. Now, though the page did inspire me a lot, I don’t own half the material she used there, and so I came up with my own version! 🙂

Art Journal - InspiredI had a sheet of paper, too thick for regular applications and too thin for card making – and for this page, I wanted something with the exact same thickness! What luck! 🙂 So, I outlined and fuzzy cut out the mounds, the trees and the branches and also random-sized squares and rectangles from this paper.

Art Journal - Inspired (close up 1)I then started adding various distress inks on these – there are too many I’ve used, so I am not listing them – the shades are pretty obvious though 😉 I then used a few stamps on them, mostly used other distress inks for stamping. The stamps I used are – Pinstripes from MFT, Chevron from Heidi Swapp, Stitched Circles and Victorian Tile from JustRite and Pattern Stripes from Hero Arts.

Art Journal - Inspired (close up 2)I then colored the branches using oil pastels. I then adhered all the pieces and added shading to the trees and the mounds using oil pastels again. I used a tiny scraper to scrape and blend the oil pastels, which also helped in better shading.

And that finished my page for my journal! Thanks for looking! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Art Journal – Inspired

Leave a Reply

