Stencilled Vases

Hello!

I always love to create my own stuff to use for my card making – stencils, stamps…just that I usually don’t know what to create and how to create it! 😛 But today, I got a fantastic inspiration for a card and the corresponding stencil from Cornelia’s card here. That lady has got some fabulous talent! I am actually casing her card here!

Stencilled VasesI made my stencil before starting with anything else. I first adhered two pieces of thin, transparent plastic book wrapping sheets using double sided adhesive in between. This makes a thin, flexible, mostly see-through and easy to cut piece. I then folded a portion in half, drew one half of the vase, and cut it (still keeping the plastic folded). This stencil was easy to create since the pieces were solid, weren’t intricate and also symmetrical. The easiest ever! 😀 I should mention that I kept the cut pieces, since they can (very conveniently) be used as masks!!

Stencilled Vases (close up)I then started with the actual card. I chose three of the many vases I’d cut, and sponged in Pumice Stone distress ink through the left, top and the bottom, leaving the right side completely free of any color. I also dabbed a bit of Black Soot at the very edges using a sponge with bigger pores. I used the mask piece for the vase in the leftmost when I started coloring the vase in between – so happy that I kept those cutoff pieces too!

I then started stamping the flowers in the vase using Micia Friendship Forever stamp set and Memento inks Potter’s Clay, Rhubarb Stalk, Lilac Posies. I also added a bit of shading to the flowers using my sketch pens. I finally stamped the sentiment which came from the same stamp set in Tuxedo Black ink – in fact I had to stamp it twice to achieve the desired darkness. 🙂 That finished my simple, one layered card.

I am submitting this to ColourQ Card Challenge #277.

Thanks for looking!

6 thoughts on “Stencilled Vases

  1. I can’t believe you made this with your own stencils – so clever! Love how you’ve coloured the vases with distress inks…such perfect shading. Thanks for playing along at Colour Q!

Leave a Reply

