Pinspiration #11

And I am back again with a new Pinspiration! It’s a pretty colorful image I got from Pinterest here! And what inspired me most were the colorful triangles –

Pinterest image - Modern Christmas TreesThe only change I made was to limit the colors, and the make the image a background, instead of using it to create a shape. 🙂

I started with normal cardstock. I then started drawing triangles using my Inktense pencils. While coloring in, I added more color to certain corners of the triangle making them converge to certain points – this is where the coloring becomes denser (I would later make it darker); and also, I left the centers of the triangles color-free.
Pinspiration #11 I then picked up minimal amount of water in my brush and started coloring the triangles, starting with the lightest color. While coloring, I stared in the center, pulling a little color from the side, then moved to the edges, pushing the color to define the edges of the triangle.

After everything was dry, I added a little black on the edges of the triangles, where I wanted some shadowing and also softened the color using a little water. This brought out more of the shadows in the image. 🙂

Pinspiration #11 (close up)I then trimmed the piece a little and adhered it to the card base. Next, for the sentiment. I cut out the pre-printed vellum, which I got from DCWV Scrapbook Kit In A Stack. I then picked up a scrap piece of paper, splattered a few drops of water colors on them. I then cut both the pieces to a tag shape and stapled them together. I then glued only the top to the background piece I prepared.

Finally, I added a few star shaped wood veneers, a couple of them colored black with Copic marker. That finished my card!

I am submitting my card to the Color Throwdown Challenge #327.

Color Throwdown #327Thanks for looking!

PE: Winner!

blinkie+327

12 thoughts on “Pinspiration #11

  1. Absolutely wonderful background!!! Perfect card for our color challenge! Thank you so much for joining us at the Color Throwdown this week!

  2. OMG…what a gorgeous background and I love the addition of the little stars!!! Thanks for playing along with us at the Color Throwdown!!!!

  3. WOW! This is SO gorgeous!!! I absolutely LOVE the background you created! I tried these pencils but didn’t get ANY result like this!!! Thanks for joining us at The Color Throwdown!!

Leave a Reply

