An experiment with Watercolors and Gold

Hello!

Sometimes, before making a card, when I don’t have a concrete idea, or if i can’t imagine how my idea might look, I try it out first. This one here is an experiment of one such idea. But, since I never got around to making the actual card out of this, and this, in itself came out pretty good, I thought I would log it in my blog, for everyone to see! šŸ™‚

Watercolors and GoldI started by apply some half dried gesso using my fingers. The results By using half dried gesso, are different – the dried gesso doesn’t spread as well as a wet one, we get a slightly uneven coverage and thickness. And that’s the effect I was going for! šŸ™‚ Also, I covered only the center, leaving the sides free.

Watercolors and GoldI then added in some watercolors – blue, pink and grey, applying some of the colors outside the gesso too. This gave a brighter and a duller color of the watercolors. I wanted the edges to be still better defined, but couldn’t – I should probably have spread the gesso a little lesser.

I then added some gold acrylic paint using the Memory Box Garden Fronds stencil. I then pencilled in the sentiment and drew over it using Unibal Signo Gold gel pen. Thankfully for me, the gold of the two matched! šŸ˜€

Well, that concludes my experiment – I should make a card out of this experience soon..do wait for the real product! šŸ˜‰

Thanks for looking! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

