Colour Me Challenge #57

Hello!

I am back with another card – this time for the Colour Me Card Challenge –

Color Me Card Challenge #57The whole card involves distress inks techniques along with inlaid die cutting.

I first picked up 3 Distress Inks – Stormy Sky, Faded Jeans, Chipped Sapphire. For the front of the card panel, I picked up a smaller piece of watercolor paper, and after splotching down the inks on my craft mat, misting some water, I picked up ink on the paper, dried it, picked up some more ink and dried it (and so on) until the whole paper was covered and I was satisfied with the color’s intensity.

Color Me Card Challenge #57 (close up 1)I then die cut the piece using Memory Box Chloe Stem. I die cut another piece from plain white watercolor paper. Then, after adhering a scrap piece of paper with double sided tape, I stuck it behind the piece and placed, first the white die cut and then the little pieces in place. I then added a few drops of white using 3D cone outliner.

Now coming to the background – I first misted the whole watercolor paper with water, then inking the stamp from WPlus9 Backgrounds And Borders in the darkest ink, Chipped Sapphire, I started stamping from the bottom, repeat stamping right above it 4-5 times without re-inking. I then repeated the step in other inks, overlapping with the previous stamped areas. And since the color was too strong, I used some paper to suck the ink off when the piece was still wet. When dry, this created a sort-of zig-zag ombre background. Although this wasn’t exactly what I had in mind, I loved that effect!! πŸ˜€

Color Me Card Challenge #57 (close up 2)Well, then, I finally foam mounted the earlier piece on the background. I didn’t add any sentiments to the front of the card, leaving the flower and the colors to do all the talking πŸ˜›

I am submitting this to a few challenges –

Colour Me Challenge #57

CAS-ual Fridays #136

Little Tangles #53

Thanks for looking! πŸ™‚

PE: Color Connoisseur

21 thoughts on “Colour Me Challenge #57

  1. This is some pretty stellar watercolouring! I LOVE the deep rich shades you were able to achieves πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for joining in the fun with us at Colour Me…! this week, hope we will see you around next week πŸ™‚

  2. So striking, it’s not often you see watercolour in such an intense colour and it works so well here. Thanks for playing along with us at CAS-ual Fridays, Rebecca x

  3. Love the deep blue colour on your card. Great effekt with the white die cut. Thanks for playing along with us at Little Tangles and hope to see you again.

Leave a Reply

