Colour Me Challenge #59

The color inspiration this time in Colour Me Challenge got me thinking – usually there is some sort of green involved, which easily facilitates the use of flowers. This time the case is different!

Colour Me Card Challenge #59As I browsed my Pinterest boards for inspiration, I came across one of the pins where butterflies were stamped with distress inks misted with water. Perfect! I got started! 🙂

Colour Me #59I picked up Broken China, Barn Door, Sqeezed Lemonade, Antique Linen distress inks. The stamp is home-made – I cut up some foam from using butterfly die that came in three different sizes. I then applied the distress inks on top, misted it with enough water, stamped on water color paper. I then dried them with a heat tool before stamping with the other colors.  I finally sprinkled some more water to create a nice splotchy effect. Then I sprinkled in some drops of the same three colors.

Colour Me #59 (close up 1)After I trimmed the paper, I didn’t know what to do! Again coming back to the color inspiration, although not listed, there was some brown in the image – so I decided to go with that. I got some brown paper, covered up the card base with that and stamped JustRite Burlap Background stamp in Frayed Burlap distress ink.

Colour Me #59 (close up 2)I then tied some hemp cord into a knot around the watercolor piece. I then stamped the sentiment from Altenew Persian Motifs using Memento Cocoa Brown ink on a strip of cardstock, added it under the hemp cord and cut off the extra. I also added a butterfly cut out from another piece of burlap-stamped-brown-paper I had made as an unsuccessful attempt in finishing the same card 😛 I then adhered the panel on top of the card base using foam tape.

And that finished my card! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Colour Me Challenge #59

Leave a Reply

