RIC #79: Oscars Red Carpet

I remember the last time RIC had lots of inspiration photos – then, as now, my first confusion was to choose which photo would be the inspiration for my card…of course, followed by the confusion of how to make my card! 😉

This time, for the RIC: Oscars Red Carpet, I chose the inspiration photo provided by Aga –

Runway Ispired Challenge #79: Oscars Red CarpetI just loved the way Aga had sprayed the pink and gold ink on the card base – that just threw out such fabulous color on the card! I loved it so much, that I decided to follow it in my card too!

But since I don’t own any sprays, I chose to use an old trick to get the effect… I mixed light pink and crimson acrylic paints and water to just the right color and thickness, and then used an old toothbrush to spray the color on the card base. I did the same with some gold acrylic paint, except this time, I didn’t mix any other paint to it and also used a lesser quantity. 🙂

RIC #79I then picked up a few die cut pieces I had left over from previous projects – that’s where the scalloped border on top came from, and the feathers too. I colored the edges of the feather using Tattered Rose distress ink and colored the bottom half of them by swiping Memento Brilliance Galaxy Gold ink pad.

RIC #79 (close up 1)I then die cut the ‘hello’ from scrap card stock using Hand Lettered Hello die from WPlus9.

I then stapled the feathers on the scallop border, adhered the border on the card base directly and added a foam dot beneath each feather to adhere it to the card base. I also curved the edges of the feathers a bit for added dimension.

RIC #79 (close up 2)Finally, I adhered the sentiment using thin-cut foam strips. I then added three dots of gold pearls using Viva Decor Gold Pearl Pen just above the sentiment. And that finished my card!

Thanks for looking! 🙂

9 thoughts on “RIC #79: Oscars Red Carpet

  1. So, so clever!! I love that you used items you already had on your desk – brilliant!! Thanks so much for playing with us at the Runway Inspired Challenge – we’re so glad you did!

  2. Your toothbrush and paint technique was just perfect for a lovely effect! Thanks so much for joining us on the Runway!

Leave a Reply

