A Vintage Style Mother’s Day Card

Hello! A third card for today, but this time, its for my very own Ma! πŸ™‚

Mother's Day CardI started with pattern paper from The Fresh Floral Stack from DCWV. I adhered it to a card panel; and since there was already some yellow on the pattern paper, I sponged in some Antique Linen distress ink to match it. I then cut out a window using Deckled Rectangles from Spellbinders.

Mother's Day (close up)I then cut out some watercolor paper – for the creamish color and the texture and stamped the sentiment from The Big, The Bold, The Happy from Winnie & Walter using Hero Arts Black ink. Then, aligning it with the pattern paper, I adhered it to the card base.

I then cut out some flowers and leaves using Folk Art Floral dies from WPlus9 and Bunch Of Flowers from Elizabeth Craft and colored them all using Copic markers. I then added some shine to them using Wink of Stella clear glitter brush pen. Finally adhered them to the card and added some pearls to embellish it.

Mother's Day (with envelope)As usual, I made my handmade envelope – this time I used some color paper. The sentiment is stamped using Sally’s ABCs from Lawn Fawn using Charcoal ink from Hero Arts. The flowers and leaves are from Joyful Flutters from Micia using Neon Purple from Hero Arts, Memento Bahama Blue and green stamp pad from Faber Castell. I then added some shine using Silver Uni-paint Marker from Uniball (yes, that is silver, not white! :P)

Mother's Day - What I Made FirstBy the way, I had made a card before for Mother’s day – this is the one. I somehow didn’t like it enough – nothing just fit my idea, and no matter what I did, I couldn’t fix it. 😦 Anyhow, I like the newer one just fine! πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “A Vintage Style Mother’s Day Card

  1. Goodness you are too hard on yourself, the second card is stunning, so hang on to it! Your first card is so very pretty and the envelope the perfect finishing touch x

    • Ha ha – thanks Sandie! What you said reminded me of something Jennifer McGuire said – “Even if I don’t like it, someone somewhere will love it, so I am not throwing it away!” – or something like that..I guess it is true! Thanks for you comments!

Leave a Reply

