Experimenting With Flower Die-cuts

Hello! I am back with another card. This time I am experimenting with flower (and leaf) die-cuts.

I have been adding more and more of cards with flower die-cuts to my boards in Pinterest – but of course, I ended up wanting to make some too! 🙂 The elegance and beauty of these cards is really something else. 🙂

…and difficult to create too! It’s not like I’ve never used flower die-cuts before. I have! But, I haven’t felt that I have mastered it yet – strike that – I don’t have a clue as to how to make different elements come together – the flowers, the background, the sentiment piece…I just don’t know how to fit all these pieces together! 😦 This experiment is just for that. I wanted to try something out and see how I can fix it.

An experiment with die-cut flowersSo, I first cut out a few flowers and leaves from various dies I own (yup, the stash has grown a lot, with my skills getting none the better! :() out of some colored cardstock. The central piece where the flowers are mounted is colored with Peacock Feathers distress ink and then stamped with Stitched Circles from JustRite using Hero Arts Tide Pool ink. I then die cut a place for the sentiment using Hero Arts/ Sizzix Hello/Thank you die cuts, I stamped the sentiment from a stamp from the same set using Memento Tuxedo Black ink.

An experiment with die-cut flowers (close up)I think I might have spent more than a couple of hours coming together with the flowers, adding some coloring using Copic markers, placing and adhering the pieces….but still ended up unsatisfied. I knew something was not right, but couldn’t pinpoint it.

What I did then – I compared my piece with all those fabulous works of art I had in my Pinterest boards. One thing I could think of was that the sentiment and the flower sizes had to be comparable – either the sizes had to be vastly different, and as close as possible. I think that would have worked out in my card too..if I had changed the flower sizes. Can you see any other improvements? Do tell me!

I am still continuing my war with those flowers…

3 thoughts on “Experimenting With Flower Die-cuts

  1. Pingback: Flower Die Cuts: A Success!! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

