The Blue Elephant

I am not exactly used to adding many layers to a card. I would love to, trust me – I’ve gathered too many cards like them in my Pinterest boards (yes, multiple boards! :D), hoping to try out something someday. And this is the outcome of the first of many to come –

The Blue ElephantThese are the supplies I used:

The elephant is from Jungle by TPC Studio stamped using Hero Arts Soft Pool and Memento Teal Zeal.
I used vellum colored using Copic marker and a die from Balloons by XCut and tied it to the elephant using a black string.
The doily in the back is die-cut using Delicate Doilies by Spellbinders.
The sentiment is from Sentiment Sampler by Paper Smooches stamped using Memento Tuxedo Black ink.
The pattern paper adhered to the card base is from Christmas & Winter stack by DCWV.
I used an embossing folder to get the letters, but I don’t know its name or where I bought it from. 😦

When I stamped the elephant, it didn’t come out so well – you can still see it is blotchy at places. Even though I really love the images themselves, not so much the stamp. Alas, not a good stamp. 😦 I had to try and spread out the color by watercoloring using the same inks on top, to try and repair the damage. Well, the elephant was just too cute to abandon, don’t you agree? 😉

I am submitting this card to Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge 273  and The Paper Players Challenge #249

Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge 273PP249: A Color Challenge From SandyThanks for stopping by! 🙂

13 thoughts on “The Blue Elephant

  1. I am exactly opposite ..can stop at one layer 😉 ! hey that elephant is cute,splotchy..I thought it to be sponging for texture ,loved the effect it creates !

  2. This is totally fabulous card ..Infact i love your layering and the way you have contrasted the colors and textures here ….The elephant does indeed look good 🙂
    PS : Have you tried to use an eraser on your TPC stamps before stamping ..Just rub it gently or even if you have nail filers very mildly rub it over the stamp surface and then ink it up ..It has worked for me in the past 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the comments and the idea, Hussena! I tried what you told, but it still isn’t working for me, unfortunately! 😦 Did I buy a bad bunch, maybe? Let me see if I can try something else – I am not giving up on the cute animals so easily! 😀

  3. Your layers are perfectly wonderful, Ashwini! The blue elephant it the cutest, and the embossed letter background behind him just perfect. Thanks so much for playing along with my color challenge at The Paper Players!

  4. Pingback: Layering Attempts! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

