Trials on Layers and CASE

Hello!

Back with another set of cards! I had been attempting to make cards for submissions for the latest challenge at Winnie & Walters – The Gossip Column with Taheerah. The challenge this time was the make a card CASEing the amazingly talented Jocelyn Olson.

I have recently started following her blog – love the way she uses pattern papers, watercolor and simple textures to make such gorgeous CAS cards! I can’t believe she uses little to no embellishments – so many of her cards don’t even have sequins – I find that so difficult to believe looking at all the cards she has made! Amazing!

Anyway, I’ll stop there or this post will turn out to be an essay on Jocelyn’s cards! πŸ˜‰ Either way, when I tried to CASE her, I turned out with naught! Not that I couldn’t come up with any cards, but that whatever I turned up with wasn’t satisfying at all – not in the least. You’ll know what I mean when you see the cards –

Layers & CASEing - 1Now, don’t get me wrong, its not like I like nothing about these cards! I love the little elements in each of them! But when I look at the overall card, either there are too many elements all screaming for attention, or all of them are so bland, that nothing calls for attention! Sigh…! Never thought CASEing someone would be so difficult! I feel jealous of all those submissions now.. 😦

Layers & CASEing - 2But, not to be disheartened, I need to remember that I still love the individual elements in the card. I love the background and the striped pattern paper I made using crayons (! :D) and the stamped rose and leaves. I love the arrangement of the black and gold frames too. On the second, I love the choice of pattern papers.

Layers & CASEing -3And on the third, I love the layout and the ombre butterfly – not to mention the butterfly I cut by hand! πŸ˜€ Thinking about these make me a happy girl! πŸ˜‰

Well, I guess I still have a long way to go learning the ways of layering and using pattern papers! πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “Trials on Layers and CASE

  1. Oh I do love all three of your cards ..I know exactly what you mean when you say its difficult to CASE someone ..Especially a crafter like Jocelyn..Her style of cardmaking is incredible!! ..But then you have done a fabulous job Caseing her style πŸ™‚

  2. I too lpve joycelyn ‘s style of card making !! Your cards are bit diffetent but have there own beauty.. Loved the layering and use of patterns on them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

