Watercolor on Stencil

Hello! Back with yet another card – I just finished making this, and couldn’t wait to post it! 😀

I followed this technique that I saw in one of the cards Wei Wei in this card. I absolutely loved the way the card looked, and I immediately proceeded to check my stash for a suitable stencil! 😀

Card Inspiration - Watercolor + Stencil Card Inspiration - Watercolor + Stencil (close up)

Here’s what the thin watercolor paper I used looked like after using the stencil + watercolor twice. Really warped, but the image looks nice and abstract with a vague shape of the flower defined. Trust me, I would never have been able to do something like this without the stencil! I am so in love with this technique, I am gonna try some more! And did I mention how quick and easy it was – I was finished with the card within the hour, taking into account the fact that I heat dried the image between different uses of the stencil.
Card Inspiration - Watercolor + Stencil - The Card

Enough praising! 😛 So, to keep the panel flat, I added lots of glue and adhered it directly to the card base. The stencil I used is Prima Daisies and the sentiment is from Penny Black Eloquence stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black. I used a Copic Multi-liner for outlining.

Submitting this card to the following challenges –

Time Out Challenge #33: Word inspiration “Happy is the Bride that the Sun Shines on”. I used sunflower for this card with a nice and bright colors! Makes me happy (atleast :P)!

Uniko Studio Challenge #22: Anything Goes

AAA Cards Challenge #42: Paste and/or Stencil

Less Is More Week 229: Stencilling

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

39 thoughts on “Watercolor on Stencil

  1. WOW! This is an awesome technique and your card is just awesome too. Such a happy carefree design. Thanks so much for taking the TIME OUT and joining in on the challenge. Hugs Bev x

  2. How pretty, Ashwini … wonderful loose stencilling on this lovely bloom … and great definition from the outlining! Great technique! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Uniko and at Time Out! Anita 🙂

  3. Love the cool effect – you created such a gorgeous artsy flower! Thank you so much for linking up to AAA Cards! Jill

Leave a Reply

