Watercoloring on Card Stock

PE: Winner at CAS Colours & Sketches!! πŸ˜€

CAS Colours & Sketches #130 Winner

Hello!

I’ve tried watercoloing on watercolor paper a lot of times, but till date, I’ve not created a successful watercolored card using card stock. I’ve tried it earlier, of course, and stopped, not liking the results. Each type of card stock reacts very differently to water and to different inks. The one I use absorbs the ink and water very quickly, not allowing color to spread very well, hence the difficulty in normal watercoloing. And what do you do when the cardstock does not respond to your need? Change you need to work with the cardstock! πŸ˜€ Here’s the result –

Watercoloring on Card StockI stamped the flowers from Floral Invitation stamp set by Micia in Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I then chose Barn Door and Tumbled Glass distress inks and Memento Dandelion ink for coloring. I didn’t have to try very hard for the partial watercolored look you can see in the images, it worked by itself. Even the ink is unevenly spread, giving dark and light areas! The only downside to this technique was that I had to increase the number of times I picked color in the brush by more than twofold.

Watercoloring on Card Stock (close up)When I was done, and the card panel dried, I added the black string, adhered it directly to a black card stock panel, to flatten out the warping and stamped the sentiment from Bo Bunny Captured in Memento Tuxedo Black ink. Finally, I adhered this to the card base and added a few black rhinestones to the bigger flowers.

So, how do you like the results? I think this technique needs a little more working from my side, but I do really like the effects. I am definitely gonna try this more! πŸ™‚

Submitting this card to CAS Colours and Sketches #130 and Color Throwdown #348
CAS Colours and Sketches #130Color Throwdown #348Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Watercoloring on Card Stock

  1. I love your take on the sketch and the use of the colors…this is sooo pretty!!! Thanks for playing along with us at the Color Throwdown Challenge!!!

  2. I really like the slightly smudgy look your watercolouring has given to the flowers. Such a pretty happy card. Thanks for playing at CC&S.

  3. Well I think you’ve done a super job with your watercolouring here on your lovely bright summery card. Thanks for joining us at CC&S this week. Stef x

Leave a Reply

