Inkspirational Guest Designer

Hello!

This is such a surprise and such a big honour!! Imagine my surprise when Marina asked me to be the Guest Designer at Inkspirational challenge! I read the mail twice, because I couldn’t believe my eyes the first time! 😀 And could I answer anything else but ‘YES’!?!

Inkspirational Challenge 86: Grunge

But after that came the low-time – the theme was ‘Grunge’!! I must admit that is something I am really really bad at!! I would just stare and stare at an empty card stock for hours and not come up with anything. I was feeling so bad for sending the card, even after so long! And then Marina helped me with some explanation of what is Grunge (and I am quoting here) –

Grunge is characterized by distressed, worn-out elements and the use of subtle or earthy colours. Think torn edges, textured backgrounds, ‘dirty’ appearance, splatters, stains, even hand-drawn lines. That said, grunge doesn’t always mean “dirty” or subdued colours. A card can have subtle grunge elements in light or soft ink and yet still look clean and simple. Just think of grunge as the opposite of “polished”. Grunge is characterized by distressed, worn-out elements and the use of subtle or earthy colours. Think torn edges, textured backgrounds, ‘dirty’ appearance, splatters, stains, even hand-drawn lines. That said, grunge doesn’t always mean “dirty” or subdued colours. A card can have subtle grunge elements in light or soft ink and yet still look clean and simple. Just think of grunge as the opposite of “polished”.

This really helped me a lot!! And I came up with not one, but two cards!! Imagine that!! 🙂

Inkspirational Guest Designer (2015-07) Card 1Its the same theme (and more or less the same arrangement) for both the cards – a kinda Autumn-y feeling with various leaves stamped with distress inks! I used the same stamp set – Hero Arts Scattering Leaves on both the cards. I shared the distress inks I used on the two cards – Peeled Paint, Pumice Stone, Gathered Twigs and Iced Spruce.

Inkspirational Guest Designer (2015-07) Card 1 (close up)After applying the inks on the stamp, I misted the stamp and stamped it – at least two and at most three times – before using the next. This gave a nice fading effect (love that!!) I then splattered a few drops of Peeled Paint ink on panel. I stamped the sentiment from Penny Black Eloquence stamp set in Memento Cottage Ivy ink. I distressed the edges using Prima Comfort Craft Distressing tool, swiped the Cottage Ivy ink pad on the edges and adhered the panel to the card base.

Inkspirational Guest Designer (2015-07) Card 2For my second card, the stamping and the ink splatters being common with the first along with the sentiment stamp set – I stamped the sentiment using Hero Arts Cup O’Joe ink. But this time, I trimmed the panel just a little but more and used a couple of pattern papers (yeah, I know you can barely see them, but that’s what I wanted!) from Best of K & Company from K & Company and Fall and Halloween stack from DCWV. I then distressed the edges of all the papers and adhered only the centers.

Inkspirational Guest Designer (2015-07) Card 2 (close up)For both the cards, I also bent the sides (of the top panels) a little bit, so they stood up and provided a bit of additional dimension to the cards.

And those are my cards! Please do tell me how you liked them! And thanks for stopping by! 🙂

20 thoughts on “Inkspirational Guest Designer

  1. A real challenge for you, Ashwini, but how wonderfully you rose to the challenge.Your two cards are gorgeous – they really look like you scooped up nature and arranged it beautifully on a card. The soft, tonal colours are perfect for the leaves – so beautifully stamped – and your sentiments are lovely. The splatters just add to the natural look. Thanks so much for being our wonderful Guest Designer at Inkspirational .

  2. Congrats on your GD spot Ashwini ..I think you have totally nailed the grunge look ..both your cards are just superb ….love the details you have added here !!

  3. Just gorgeous! I love the design, the colours, the leaves, everything!! You really were spot on with the grunge theme. So glad you could join us as GD! 🙂

  4. Yay! It is so good to have you design with us at Inkspirational! Your card is beautiful! You did such a great job with the grunge style. Your leaves look fantastic!
    – Shauna

  5. Both of your grunge cards are wonderful, Ashwini! I love the autumnal feel and the stamps that you used and the color palette… Well, all the elements are very beautiful and great grungy feel too! Thanks for being our GD at Ink!

Leave a Reply

