Totally Inspired!

PE: Muse Challenge Honorable Mention!

Hello!

Inspiration comes from many places – and my cards this time are from two different sources –

My first card, is inspired by the beautiful card made by Carol Mayne over at the Muse Challenge.

Muse Challenge #131I used Hero Arts Feathers stamp and the Flip-it stamping technique to make the card. The after using Rock-n-Roll technique to ink up the feather with Memento Tuxedo Black, I stamped the feathers in a row and then used Memento inks Memento Danube Blue, Lady Bug, Potter’s Clay, Teal Zeal, Dandelion on the back of the stamp to add colors to the feathers. The sentiment, from Micia Butterflies in Spring, is stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I finally retraced the spine of each feather in Uniball Signo black pen. That made a whole lot of difference – you wouldn’t believe the impact the feathers made before and after the spine change! πŸ˜›

Here’s the Muse inspiration –

My second card is inspired from this beautiful sari that I found in Pinterest

Picture of Charming Yellow and Off White Color Designer Saree: Picture of Charming Yellow and Off White Color Designer Saree

I used the triangles from Winnie & Walter: Its A Wonderful Pennant and the lines WPlus9 Country Charm to stamp the pattern in Memento Tuxedo Black ink. My first idea was to keep the card as flat as possible and so I adhered my yellow color paper directly on the card base, but I didn’t like it. So I adhered the color paper on card stock before adding it on the previous layer using foam tape. I then cut out the sentiment using Paper Trey Ink Wet Paint, one piece from black and the others from white card stock. Adhering them together with the black one topmost kinda gave a pretty look, with the white peeking from the sides. πŸ™‚ I also wanted a bit of gold, from the sari’s borders, so I added layered white and gold sequins as embellishment.

Pinspiration #13

I am a lover of geometry in card and I love how this card has turned out! πŸ™‚ Submitting this one to Virgina’s View Challenge: Geometric Patterns

30 thoughts on “Totally Inspired!

  1. Oh my gosh, love, love this cards!! Your feather card is so beautiful, those feathers look so airy and delicate, wonderful colors on them.
    Your second card is amazing, you were able to reproduce the incredible pattern of that gorgeous dress perfectly, down to the Saffron shade, just beautiful.
    Thank you for sharing on the Muse Challenge.
    Hugs.
    Maria Rodriguez.

  2. I love your Muse card, Ashwini, so gorgeous, I love those puffy feathers! and the second card inspired by the sari is Gorgeous, lovely patterns, and perfect for that challenge….I was more into looking at the sari though πŸ˜‰ I love sarees, and don’t get to wear very often.

  3. Ashwini, two gorgeous cards! I’m especially smitten with your first and I’m so thrilled that my Muse card inspired your to join the gallery! I’ve not tried the ‘flip-it’ technique before, so you have become MY muse to do so in the very near future! Thank you for joining the MUSE gallery this week!
    ~c

  4. Wow – both these cards are just fabulous. I love the way you CASEd Carol’s feather card – your feathers are just super. And I do like the way you’ve used the sari pattern to create your second card. Super work.

  5. Very cool technique for the feather card! Congrats on the HM!
    Also love the graphic card you made inspired by that gorgeous Sari!

Leave a Reply

