#337 – Ellen Hutson: October Mix It Up Challenge with WPlus9 Design Studio

Hello! This time I have a card for Ellen Hutson challenge. The Mix It Up challenge this month is with WPlus9, and since I’ve got loads of backgrounds from WPLus9, I thought of combining them with some beautiful Ellen Hutson flowers.

Banner-MIX-itThis is my card – I wanted to make a monochrome card, and the sketch is inspired by the Sovushka Slavia Sketch challenge #35.

Ellen Hutson: October Mix It Up Challenge with WPlus9 Design StudioI first stamped the background zig-zags using WPlus9 WPlus9 Backgrounds & Borders. I tried bringing in shades of yellow – so I used Wild Honey, Fossilized Amber, Mustard Seed, Scattered Straw and Squeezed Lemonade distress inks. I then cut out another piece for the top panel, stamped the flowers from Ellen Hutson Bold Blooms using Memento Dandelion and rounded the corners. I then adhered a piece of yellow color paper on cardstock and die cut a flower using Ellen Hutson Wild Garden (die). To finish off, I adhered all the pieces together, and added a checkered washi tape on top – I felt there was very less black, otherwise. 😛

I actually based this on another card I made, using embossing and water-coloring using the same distress inks, stamps and dies – but the embossing didn’t come out well and the paint seeped under the embossing. Tragedy! 😦

WPlus9 & Ellen Hutson - a try!!So, I am finally happy with my latest card! 😀

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

8 thoughts on “#337 – Ellen Hutson: October Mix It Up Challenge with WPlus9 Design Studio

  1. Ashwini, wonderful happy card! I like it more than the 1st try, maybe because of black details. It happens to also sometimes, my idea does not work and I have to re-do. Thanks you very much for sharing your creation with us at Sovushka Slavia. -Ksenija, a.k.a Sweet Kobylkin

Leave a Reply

