#356 – Diwali Cards for the Family

Hello! Presenting some more Diwali cards I made – this time for my family. 🙂

I got the idea of using vellum for the card base from this video from the incredible Jennifer McGuire. When I saw this card made by her, I really loved the idea – the card was stunning, but I didn’t think then that I would ever use vellum for a card base! But I just couldn’t resist the idea when it came to making these Diwali cards for my family!

Diwali cards 01(a)Diwali cards 01(c)Another reason for making these cards is actually using these vellum. This set of vellum, which I recently ordered are quite different. They seem pretty plastic-y and anything I tried wouldn’t work – stamping spread the ink like it was blotted and die-cutting was a nightmare – nothing would cut this!! When I almost gave up, Jennifer’s idea came to my rescue and you see the results for yourself! 🙂

Diwali cards 02(a)Diwali cards 02(c)I used three variations on these cards –

  1. I stamped using pigment inks (this wouldn’t blot, thank god!).
  2. I used heat embossing. Here I used Ranger silver embossing powder.
  3. I used stencil and embossing paste. I used Wendi Vecchi Gold embossing paste here.

The rest of the process I followed is the same as Jennifer has shown us. And now I have a very good use for this vellum! 😀

Diwali cards 03(a)Diwali cards 03(c)Of course, I used stamps for the sentiments and hand drew the diyas on the cards and the envelopes. I used Uniball gold gel pens, Flair Sparkle glitter gel pens and Zig Clean Color Real Brush pens for drawing and coloring the diyas.

Please do tell me how you liked the cards! And thank you for stopping by! 🙂

5 thoughts on “#356 – Diwali Cards for the Family

  1. Pingback: #362 – Persian Motif Love | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

