#367 – Timeout Challenge Guest Designer!

Am I a lucky one or what! I got a chance to be Guest Designer for Timeout Challenge! I was so happy when Sandie asked me – and when I saw the theme, I was absolutely delighted!!

‘Snowflakes are Winter’s Butterflies’

Think of the possibilities! You can think of a million ways to make a card just with butterflies or snowflakes alone – added to that a winter them! I had a hard time this time, not to come up with an idea, but to actually decide which idea to actualize! 😀

And I finally chose snowflakes – Christmas card in some traditional colors!

Timout Challenge GDI used pattern paper from DCWV Christmas & Winter stack – just the perfect stack for this theme! I adhered my chosen paper – with red and green snowflakes – on some card stock and die cut it using Neat & Tangled Graduated Stripes. I debated a bit on whether I should adhere the pieces directly on the card base or foam mount them – that is until I saw the thickness of the last stripe – I just went for adhering directly then! 😛 I then stamped the sentiment from Hero Arts All Occasion Messages using Hero Arts Pale Tomato.

Timout Challenge GDFor the snowflakes I used Spellbinders Snowflake Pendant dies. I used Tarnished Brass, gave two rounds of coating to a card stock and die cut the snowflakes (looks metallic, doesn’t it! :)) and also cut out a couple from vellum. I adhered these and added red rhinestones in the center.

Somehow I felt that the pattern paper wasn’t standing out much – so I gave it a coating of Wink of Stella clear glitter. Hmm…wonderful! 😀 What’s a card without some glitter, I say! 😛

Well, I stopped here, before I added glitter everywhere! 😛 Please do check out the cards by the Timeout Challenge DT – they are inspirational in every way! And don’t forget to participate too!

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

20 thoughts on “#367 – Timeout Challenge Guest Designer!

    • Thank you very much Nicole!! The graduated stripes are from using the Neat & Tangled Graduated Stripes – easy peasy way for getting them in even length! 🙂

  1. Just fabulous Ashwini, I love how your snowflake dies match the paper and how you added that delicate vellum snowflake, just like real snow! And of course we need lots of glitter! So pleased you joined us at TO as our awesome guest x

  2. What a cool and fabulous background to those gorgeous snowflakes, Ashwini … love how you’ve layered the metallic with the softness of the vellum! Thanks so much for guest designing alongside us at Time Out! Anita 🙂

  3. This is a truly stunning card Ashwini – I love the non-traditional and fun of the design! Those graduated stripes are brilliant in that patterned paper and the tarnished brass are the perfect finishing touch! Thanks so much for guest designing with us on this challenge. Jill

  4. What a great way to use patterned paper, I love your layout! I think I want to CASE this if you don’t mind, I’ll of course give you credit then! Beautiful! Thanks for being out GD at TO. 🙂

  5. This is so beautiful Ashwini and love how you used that striped die, such a cool idea!! The paper you used is gorgeous and love how you did the snowflakes with one in vellum. So wonderful to have you as a Guest Designer, I’m a huge fan!!!

Leave a Reply

