#408 – Smile!

PE: The Card Concept Winner!! 😀

The Card Concept - Challenge Winner

Hello!

Made this card late last evening. This is one of the cards that came out better than I thought… and totally love the monochrome –

Smile

I first cut out a card panel using a die from Mama Elephant So Fancy. I then stamped My Favorite Things Lacy Background using Antique Linen distress ink, after misting it with a little water. I then stamped the flowers from Simon Says Stamp Summer Garden using Hero Arts Cup O’Joe, Paper Trey Ink Classic Kraft and Hero Arts Soft Granite inks. I also stamped one each of the flowers and a few leaves on a scrap piece of card stock and die cut them using the co-ordinating dies.

After mounting the flowers, I came to the sentiment – both the stamp and the die are from the Paper Trey Ink Wet Paint 3 stamp and die combination. For the die cut, I swiped Hero Arts Cup O’Joe on a scrap piece of card stock and then die cut it. For mounting it, I first thought of using black foam, but decided against it – I thought it would disturb the ‘sepia’ harmony, and instead I went for stacking die cut pieces from my watercolor paper, which is off white. The second, smaller sentiment is stamped using Hero Arts Cup O’Joe too.

Finally adhered a few copper sequins as embellishment. And that’s my card. Submitting it to the following challenges – Just Add Ink #296: Just Add Nature, Fusion Challenge: Woodgrain Neautral and The Card Concept #47: Floral Elegance

By the way, I also made another card using the same stamp for a friend’s birthday. This card is inspired by this card by the awesome Nina Marie Trapini.  I used Hero Arts Its Your Day for the sentiment. I used white pigment paint from Camel drawing inks and used Deco Art Glamour Dust Ultra Fine Glitter Paint in silver to color the flowers’ center –

Birthday Wishes (Card)

And of course, the handmade envelope too. I used Memento Tuxedo Black for stamping and Deco Art Glamour Dust Ultra Fine Glitter Paint in gold to color the flowers’ center –

Birthday Wishes (Envelope)

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

22 thoughts on “#408 – Smile!

  1. Gorgeous! I love the monochrome look and the sequins makes it just that much more elegant. WOW. Thanks for joining us this week at The Card Concept 🙂

  2. Yay for you, Ashwini! These are two awesome cards! I have that stamp set and love it, you did an outstanding work in both cards, and matching envelope.

  3. Very BEAUTIFUL! I like all the different florals and textures achieved through your stamping. Thanks for playing at the Card Concept:)

  4. These are both beautiful Ashwini! I love all the subtle layers in your first. It is very detailed and elegant in those muted tones. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

  5. Love your cards. Monochrome in neutrals looks so elegant. Fabulous matching envelope too! Thanks for sharing with us at Just Add Ink this week. x

  6. It looks like you were having great fun playing with this stamp set. The first is my fave because it’s so unexpected. The neutral on neutral – detailed stamp with a detailed stamp background, but it absolutely worked and it’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

