#415 – Coloring On Kraft

PE: ColourQ Courtier!!

ColourQ - Honorable Mention

…with color pencils.

Hello! (I am a statement late with my greeting for obvious reasons..)

Tried coloring on Kraft cardstock for the first time – and loved it! I used my Faber Castell Polychromos color pencils, and Prismacolor white pencil (don’t ask me why I didn’t pick the white from Polychromos – I don’t know, I just picked it!). And here’s the result –

Happy Birthday

I first heat embossed the flower from Ellen Hutson Mondo Magnolia in white and then colored the image using my color pencils. I must say, the difference in the pencils (probably what they’re made of) gave me a surprise, albeit a pleasant one – the white sort of pulled and pushed the color from the other – I love the way it looks in real life! 🙂

Once done, I waited a day before making the background, just because I wasn’t getting any idea to proceed. I got this idea the next day. I made the background panel by first stamping the stripes from WPlus9 Country Charm in Hero Arts Soft Pool and then coloring it using Paper Trey Ink Tropical Teal. I adhered both the panels at an angle on the card base, applying the adhesive only to the sides, such that the loose corner can be lifted. Unfortunately, the kraft cardstock was too hard to bend, but I was able to bend the striped panel nicely. 🙂

Finally came the sentiment from Paper Smooches Happy birthday. I die cut it twice, adhering both the pieces together, and then directly adhering it to the card – I didn’t want too much dimension on the card. I then added a few clear rhinestones as embellishment.

Submitting this to the ColourQ Challenge #327 and the Daily Marker 30 Day Coloring Challenge (Day 06) –

Kathy Racoosin - The Daily Marker - Color Challenge

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

18 thoughts on “#415 – Coloring On Kraft

  1. Beautiful colouring, love how your card turned out and the red just stands out beautifully. Have this stamp and haven’t inked it up yet. Maybe its time to try on kraft again, always love the vibrancy that can be achieved just not the pain in my hands. I have coloursoft pencils (Derwents) not sure they would give the same vibrancy you have achieved.

    • Thank you so much Aileen! Glad I could inspire you pick up and use those stamps! 😀 And I am not sure about the pencils – don’t have them – guess you just have to try! 😀

  2. Ashwini, this is GORGEOUS! Gongrats on being a Colour Courtier this week. I love your cards, you’re INSANELY talented. Thanks for visiting me on Pinterest an leaving a sweet comment. ; ) Lots of love from *Cori

Leave a Reply

