#423 – Ellen & Penny

Hello!

No, those are not names of people, but of Ellen Hutson and Penny Black! 😀 The challenge this time on Ellen Hutson Mix It Up called for Penny Black products. And I came up with this card –

Ellen Hutson + Penny Black

I got inspired by this card by the amazingly talented Sandy Allnock. She used oil pastels and then diluted and spread the colors using just a baby wipe. You have to watch the video to see how awesome it is to watch the colors mix and a masterpiece unfold!

That being said, the oil pastels I own are just student grade and not so easy to manipulate. I tried to first apply the pastels on paper and then spread them, but all I got was a smudge. The colors were blending, but just not with the effect I wanted – there was no texture forming at all! 😦 So, I turned my thoughts around. I used paper stumps, the same as what I use with my color pencils, applied baby oil to it, picked color from the pastel sticks, and colored it from there. It took some time, but I finally got what I wanted – a way to use a coloring medium, which otherwise I wouldn’t have touched! 😀

Happy to say that the black image, Penny Black Divine, stamped using Memento Tuxedo Black was not at all affected by either the oil or the pastels. And I was able to color it all without incident. Except that I had kept the oil pastel sticks right next to the piece I was coloring, and I got a few unwanted lines on the it. Well, I improvised – I turned it into a background instead! 😀

I then trimmed the piece, rounded one corner and stamped the sentiment from Ellen Hutson Mondo Magnolia in Memento Tuxedo Black, and finally added some pearls to embellish the card.

Submitting this to Ellen Hutson February Mix It Up Challenge and 30 Day Coloring Challenge Day 11

Ellen Hutson - Mix It Up Challenge

Kathy Racoosin - The Daily Marker - Color Challenge

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

6 thoughts on “#423 – Ellen & Penny

Leave a Reply

