#434 – A Wash of Color

PE: Stamplorations February Theme & Sketch Challenge Winner!!!

Stamplorations - Challenge Winner

Hello!

Like a few of the products I have bought, I had difficulty to determine what to do with Camel Drawing inks – I had initially bought them thinking I could do some watercoloring with them. But I wasn’t able to do so very well. One reason might be that I am but a novice in watercoloring – I felt the inks dry too quickly, and I wasn’t able to give them a proper spread, even while using a wet-on-wet technique. On the other hand I just love the vibrancy of these inks. They might have fit calligraphy perfectly, only if I was actually going for it! Since I am not, I found, for the time being, one use of these inks.

Congrats

I first applied a coat of gesso on normal card stock and then applied these inks like I was watercoloring. After it dried (I had to heat it a bit too, the inks were coming off a bit) it gave a beautiful marbled look. Loved it! Wish I had taken a photo too, but I went with the die cutting before I realized it.. 😦

So anyway, I used Paper Trey Ink Triangles cover plate to get these tiny triangles. I chose Paper Trey Ink Soft Stone card stock and arranged them and adhered each using foam dots. The sentiment, from Paper Trey Ink Wet Paint is stacked, with the die cut from black cardstock forming a shadow effect with the die cut from a white cardstock. I then added white Ranger Enamel Accents. Although the technique is very simple, it took a lot of time to finish this card. And even though the triangles are not exactly arranged very neatly, I still love the card! πŸ™‚

Submitting this to Pinterest Inspired Challenge (February) and 30 Day Coloring Challenge

Kathy Racoosin - The Daily Marker - Color Challenge

My second card too uses the same technique. Except, I only added the color to a corner of my gesso-ed cardstock.

Thank You

Once the colors were dry, I stamped the flowers and leaves from Ellen Hutson Bohemian Garden and Bold Blooms using Memento Tuxedo Black ink. Of course, they didn’t stamp well (and I don’t own archival ink) so I traced over them again with my Uniball Signo black gel pen. And when even this wasn’t sticking, I heated the whole thing with my heat gun – and it finally stuck! πŸ˜€ I also stamped the sentiment from Penny Black Flower Sparks in the same way.

I then die cut the panel using Spellbinders Grate Effect. I then adhered the pieces together, on the card base, selectively not adhering a few pieces. There’s so much going on in this card, I decided not to add any embellishments. And that’s my card..

The You

Submitting this to Stamplorations February Challenge: Stamps & Triplets (3 of anything), ColourQ Challenge #329 and Sovushka Slavia Card Sketch Challenge #44

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “#434 – A Wash of Color

  1. I’ll admit I’ve never heard of Camel Drawing inks but I love how they look on your cards! The colors are so vibrant and I love the texture that the die cuts give. Thanks for playing along with us at colourQ!

  2. No wonder first card would have taken lot of time ,adhering all tiny triangles with foam dots !! Loved the graphic look with watercolors ..loved the artsy bg on second one !! I think I should check camel inks now πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Ashwini, I reckon you have done brilliantly with an ink that really isn’t for actual painting. its one of those products thats more for outlines, sketching but what you have achieved with it with these two beautiful cards is amazing. I love that you look at how to come up with a use for a product and persevere till you get a wonderful looking card. two stunning looking cards.

  4. Oh, these are both fabulous, Ashwini! I love the cool placement of your beautiful triangles on the first card — fantastic take on the inspiration photo! And your second card is gorgeous!

  5. WOW! I love it, love it, love it!!! There’s really so much going on (in your second card) and you did an amazing job with the sketch! πŸ˜‰ Fantastic! Thanks for joining us here in Sovushka Slavia challenge! πŸ˜‰

  6. THUD <– that was the sound of my jaw dropping to the floor. These. Are. AMAZING!! Your use of bold color is stunning and I am in love with both of the techniques you showcased. You're SO talented! Thanks for playing along at STAMPlorations!!

  7. Pingback: #459 – Stamplorations April Guest Designer! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

