#435 – When Its Mostly Grey

Hello! I am not talking about the weather – cuz its pretty sunny here in Bengaluru. I am only talking about my card!

When I look at flowery stamps, I only think about them being bright, colorful and cheery – so this was quite a change for me – and I loved it! πŸ™‚

When its Mostly Grey

The flowers and sentiment are from Simon Says Stamp Summer Garden, which I heat embossed in white on a piece of vellum. I colored the flowers on the back of the vellum, using Zig Clean Color Real Brush pens. I then die cut a piece of grey paper using Paper Smooches Borders 2 die, adhered it on a white card stock panel, as a base for the vellum piece. Before adhering this panel on the card base, I adhered a grey striped washi tape on the card base.

It was all ok, until I tried bending the vellum – it just wouldn’t bend. I’ll admit, my vellum just listen to me! I had a very hard time – I tried double sided tape. I tried Multi medium matte. No, the stubborn thing just wouldn’t stay down!! Finally, I tried that which I never felt like trying – staplers! Though I don’t really like how it looks, at least it stays down! πŸ˜€

Submitting this to Freshly Made Sketches #224, Color Throwdown #380 and 30 Day Coloring Challenge at The Daily Marker blog –

Kathy Racoosin - The Daily Marker - Color Challenge

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on “#435 – When Its Mostly Grey

  1. Attaching vellum is always the hardest part….staples are a perfect solution! This is really lovely! Glad you joined us this week at FMS!

  2. Nice, weather wise I can relate, it is mostly grey in my part of the world, and I know Bengaluru has blue skies, I have faded memories of this city, I lived for 3 years as a toddler.
    Ok your card is amazing as always, I love all the white embossing on the vellum, the sramp is gorgeous.

    • Rahmat! Finally found your comment – it was actually awaiting moderation, and I missed it – sorry!
      But thank you so much for your comments! I guess you’ll just have to see Bengaluru’s blue skys in photos now.. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my…this is sooo pretty!!!! I absolutely love the flowers embossed on the vellum…just beautiful!!! Thanks so much for playing along with us at the Color Throwdown Challenge!!!

  4. Great use of the sketch and colors!! Love the flowers embossed on vellum and then colored- gorgeous!! So glad you joined us at CTD!!

  5. This is very elegant and beautiful! Aren’t you glad you tried a different color combo? I am and I’m so glad you could join us at the Color Throwdown this week!

  6. For some reason, I had difficulty leaving a comment on this post yesterday. I commented twice, but it wasn’t working…anyways, it is a lovely card, I love all the white embossing, and coloring. Gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

