#459 – Stamplorations April Guest Designer!

Hello!

Wonderful news! So excited to be a Guest Designer over at the Stamplorations April Theme and Sketch Challenge!! I had participated in the Stamplorations February Challenge – and, after being declared the winner, I got called for a Guest Designer feature for this month.

Stamplorations Guest Designer

The theme for the month of April is Stamp & Splatters and here’s the sketch –

Stamplorations Theme & Sketch April SketchStamplorations Theme & Sketch April Sketch

You have the option of choosing the theme or the technique or both! I would say, choose anything, but, since you have the option of playing month long, go ahead and play! Having fun is the most important part, after all! πŸ™‚

For my part, I decided to play with both the theme and the sketch. Shery was kind enough to send me digital images to use on my card. But what I’ve used here is another Stamploration digi that I won in another challenge. Its a gorgeous image of a rose – don’t you just love it – and I was too excited to use it and couldn’t wait till I got the print outs of the new images ! πŸ˜›

Stamplorations April Guest Designer

Unfortunately for me, I was not able to find a place where I could get the image printed on card stock, or even thin water color paper – just one of the irritating things about living in India 😦 I had to get them printed on normal paper and get innovative on using them. Again, using normal paper meant that I could not use too much water – watercoloring and adding splatters was my first idea, but I had to improvise. What I did was to change it slightly. I used the same product that I used for my winning entry – Camel drawing inks! Since these inks are absolutely loaded with color, I didn’t have to dilute them. And thankfully, even after a lot of splattering, the paper didn’t warp that much. So, I was saved! πŸ˜€

Stamplorations April Guest Designer

Coming to the actual steps – I first made some temporary masks for the flower and the leaves using scrap paper. Its not like I wanted the color to not fall on unwanted places (like red on leaves) more like I wanted to limit it only for highlighting – like where the flower stopped and the leaves started (if you don’t get this line, its ok – it doesn’t matter :P) I used an old toothbrush to spray the colors, methodically drying the paper by heating it (this was leading to color loss, so didn’t do it for the final layers) or air-drying it between layering colors to make it rich in color.

Once everything was dry, I smoothed out the paper by sending it through my Big Shot a few times. I then added tape behind the piece and adhered it on a card panel for more firmness. I then adhered this panel at an angle over a black cardbase. I then added the sentiment, from Paper Trey Ink Wet Paint stamp and die. I used the die to die cut from black foam and some green cardstock, which I adhered using Ranger Multi Medium Matte. The sentiment, I heat embossed in white on another piece of black card stock, trimmed it, cut out fish tails and adhered it on the card panel.

And that’s my card – this would have been so much easier if I could find a way to get a print on watercolor paper!! Well, things worked out anyway! πŸ™‚

I am submitting this card to Addicted to Stamps #187: Make Your Mark, Bastel Traum #39: Nature-Garden-Rainbow (my theme is nature/garden) and Lesia Gardia: April Challenge: Use a Floral Stamp

Bastel Traum - Challenge Badge

Please pop over to the Stamplorations blog for more amazing inspiration – I’ll bet the design team will knock your socked off! πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

31 thoughts on “#459 – Stamplorations April Guest Designer!

  1. I have to tell you – I saw your card and absolutely gasped at it’s beauty! I LOVE how you printed this digi oversized and the splattery wash of colors makes my heart go all pitter patter with delight. Totally pinned this and I’m SO happy you’re guesting with us this month. πŸ™‚

  2. Truly beautiful…you really overcame the limitations in an amazingly successful way. The card is so stunning…I found myself just staring at it and shaking my head over your talent.

  3. Such a Beautiful take on the theme and sketch! I often forget that digis can be made LARGE…this is a Super idea! Thanks for being Guest Designer with us at STAMPlorations:)

  4. Gorgeous card, Ashwini! Great improvising too! I really appreciate that! Living in a foreign country myself and always having to make things work (and having things be difficult and not quite right) makes me have empathy for you in your situation. Superb job; this is a very beautiful card. Thanks for joining in at ATSM MYM.

    • Thank you Melissa! I agree, you don’t always get the right stuff, but can somehow make do with what you have! Thank you for your kind and encouraging comments!

  5. Wowzers!!!!! You really made your mark here! Such a fabulous card – my jaw just dropped when I saw this!!! Congrats to be GDT at STAMPlorations!

  6. Wow, this is a gorgeous card! The sentiment really pops off the flower, so pretty! Thanks for playing with us at bastel-traum.ch. Hugs from Switzerland, Tina

  7. Pingback: #467 – STAMPlorations Guest Designer – Reminder | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  8. Oh, what for a great news… Congrats πŸ™‚ This card is amazing and made with a lot of love πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing by bastel-traum… Hope we can see you again with a new inspiration πŸ™‚ Hugs Ute

Leave a Reply

