#463 – Happy Birthday!

Hello!

Its my dear sister’s birthday today and here’s the card I made for her –

Happy Birthday

My initial plan was a complete 180 from this card – I had planned to use hues of blue and yellow and make a shaker card using Ellen Hutson flower dies – Bold Blooms and Wild Garden. Yeah, that didn’t work at all the way I wanted. So completely abandoned it, used the pieces to make some other good cards and made this pretty one for my sis instead! ๐Ÿ˜€

Happy Birthday

Can I confess that even though I wasn’t a big fan of foil until now (I mean, I really really love how it looks – in other people’s cards, i.e., – I never even thought it feasible to try it in mine!!) But after this card, it looks like a new world of possibility. And I am loving those possibilities too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Happy Birthday

To make this card, I first heat embossed in gold the Faceted stamp set from Neat and Tangled, the paper is Fabriano Elle Erre Bianca. I then watercolored it using Ripe Persimmon, Festive Berries, Picked Raspberry, Victorian Velvet, Tattered Rose, Spiced Marmalade, Fossilized Amber.

Since I don’t have proper foil with me, I used leafing instead. I used Zig two way glue stick like a brush, and applied it to some thick cardstock and after the dry time, added some gold foil.From this, I die cut the flowers and leaves using Paper Smooches Flowers & Flowers 2 dies. The sentiment, from Paper Smooches Happy Birthday, is die cut from normal (i.e., no foil), but thick white cardstock.

The for side panels, I used little hearts washi tape and some yellow-green striped pattern paper from Pink Paislee. I then adhered these together using Multi Medium Matte and also foam tape.

Happy Birthday

For my handmade envelope, I chose some pink paper, and used the same flower, leaf and sentiment dies, but this time I used foiled paper for them all, and also used some copper along with the gold, since it blended well with the pink. I also added a couple of stripes of XO washi tape in one side.

Yeah, compared to the description, the time I took was far more – and I was undecided and skeptical at every stage until I finished it – and was finally satisfied! ๐Ÿ˜€

I hope you like it too, my dear sis – A Very Happy Birthday To You!

Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “#463 – Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

