#474 – A Color and a Sketch Challenge

Hello! My mojo is running low even now. Even though I am getting loads and loads of inspiration from Pinterest and the (oh so many) blogs and card makers that I follow, I can’t seem to create a card that I am completely satisfied with! Here are two of my latest attempts. I can’t say I am completely unhappy –

My first card is inspired by the colors in ColourQ Challenge #341

Thinking of You

The flowers are from Micia Mother’s Love stamp set. I stamped them on the kraft card base using Brushed Corduroy distress ink and on some watercolor paper using MFT hybrid black ink. I then colored the flowers using PTI Hibiscus Burst, PTI Melon Berry, Spiced Marmalade DI and Brushed Corduroy DI inks. I then fuzzy cut the flowers, added a few splatters, with the colors mathcing the flowers, over them; added a few splatters of black ink over the card base and adhered them. The sentiment is from Avery Elle Laurels which I stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black, the decorative line is from the same Micia stamp set, stamped in Brushed Corduroy.

My second card is inspired by the Sovushka Slavia Card Sketch #50

Just Because

I first die cut the circle and painted it using watercolors. Leaving it aside to dry, I stamped the background on a card panel using My Favorite Things Simply Circles, trimmed it in half and adhered it over the background.Β  I then stamped the flowers from Altenew Peony Scrolls on scrap card stock and fussy cut them. I then stamped the sentiment from Neat & Tangled Everyday Labels and trimmed it to size. Then I assembled all the pieces together, giving dimension to only the watercolored circular piece and the sentiment.

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “#474 – A Color and a Sketch Challenge

    • Nicole!!! Where are you?!?! God, I’ve been so worried!! Missing for months!!
      Ok, scolding and worrying aside, thank you so much for the surprise appearance! Its great to see you comment and support and the encouraging words!! Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

      • Aww….Ashwini your words touch my heart…So sorry to bring worry…I had to make a sudden change with my schedule and therefore had to shut my blog down and stop being on a DT…But all is well πŸ™‚

        Always enjoy your beautiful cards…let’s keep in touch through email & snail mail my friend πŸ’œ

        • I would love to, dear friend – in fact, if I had your email id, I would have mailed you ages ago! I just never got a chance to ask you! Here’s mine . Share yours, if you don’t mind! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Pooja! Somehow, I can’t convince myself the same.. I guess I’ll take some time (but I am glad to say, I have the patience to wait! πŸ˜‰

  1. Looks good, but I cannot see the bold colors of you Ashwini in the first one, BUT the second one you had nailed it ;), I hope your mojo comes back, its been troubling you for a while now. Go and travel for sometime to take your time off crafting, and maybe being away from supplies and coming back to them will help you, I usually come back starving for crafting after a holiday πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you for your honest comments, Rahmat – I feel the same way. The first card…yeah, I don’t know what happened with it. I had a completely different idea and it didn’t turn out good. But I am working on it – I think I am slowly getting my mojo back. Bear with me, dear friend! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

