#476 – CASometry Challenge #2: Make 5

Hello!

Have you known about the CASometry Challenge from the blog of the fabulous Anna Kossakovskaya? Its only the second challenge. I missed the first challenge, and really felt that I should participate in the next one, if she ever held it. The challenge this time is Make 5, i.e., to make 5 CAS cards using a single stamp set (of course, mixing in other stamp sets is allowed, but there needs to be one stamp set in common among all the 5 cards). Here’s my first card I made for the challenge… and today’s post carries the second one. 🙂

Its Your Birthday

I got this idea from a few cards I saw – the idea is to keep no colors at all on the main elements – here the critters – and make it a color splash of sorts – here the balloons. I kinda liked the idea and wanted to try it out. Here are a couple of other ideas I stored in my Pinterest board (here and here), and a couple more, with minimal coloring (here and here).

For this card, I chose Fabriano Elle Erre Bina card stock. The critters are from the same stamp set as earlier – WPlus9 Happy Mail. For the flowery background, I used Purple Onion Designs Blooms, along with a couple of flowers from Happy Mail. The sentiment is from Sizzix Phrases stamp set. I used Memento Tuxedo Black ink to stamp them all.

Its Your Birthday

The balloons are cut using dies from XCut Ballons set. For these, I first colored pieces of vellum using Faber Castell Oil Pastels, spread the color using baby oil (which didn’t spoil the vellum ;)) and then die cut them. I used three shades of color, mixing dark color in lighter areas to get some streaking, thus adding a bit of texture to an otherwise plain card. I drew the string’s lines on the balloons using Copic Multi Liner and then used Multi Medium Matte below them to adhered them to the card. The critters are fuzzy cut and foam mounted to the card.

I am also submitting this card to Just Us Girls Challenge #343: Vellum, Creative With Stamps Challenge #2: Clean and Simple , The Paper Players #295: Wild, Addicted to Stamps #194: Wild and Happy Little Stampers May Challenge: Anything Goes With Dies

a2e3a-cas2bbadge

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

28 thoughts on “#476 – CASometry Challenge #2: Make 5

  1. Oh dear! Your card is just amazing! I like the idea of no-coloring the entire card and just keep the only elementis colored. I think I should scrap liftit!

  2. Super cute card. Very interesting to do no color with the images, and then a pop of color on the vellum. I really like this card!!! Great take on the challenge!! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week over at Just Us Girls!!!

  3. Love the way you treated the balloons, the baby oil idea is genius, I may have to borrow that if I may.
    Thanks for sharing at HLS AG dies. 🙂

    • Thank you very much Julie!! I say that since the HLS team gives us so much inspiration, it sometimes good to see it the other way round! 🙂

  4. Oh my, how adorable are those little critters!? Love the colorful balloon and fun CAS design!
    Thank you so much for playing along with Creative With Stamp Challenge this month 🙂

  5. Oh woooww Ashwini
    your card is soo cuutee
    and love that balloons in vellum so clever and so CAS
    I have seen you won on some challenge this year you are the star miss lady
    I miss your visit hope you like to visit me again maybe…
    see you around sweet lady
    many thanks for joining with us at ATSM this week
    hugs
    Monika (DT Member)

  6. Pingback: #481 – Thanks For Being So Wonderful | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  7. Pingback: #492 – A Sketchy Critter Show | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  8. Pingback: CASometry Challenge 2. Make five: Secret Final — Anna Kossakovskaya

  9. Pingback: #499 – CASometry Challenge 2: Final | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

