#479 – Happy Birthday Ma!!

PE: Seven Hills Crafts Winner!! πŸ˜€

Seven Hills Crafts - Challenge Winner

Hello!

Its a fine co-incidence that my Ma’s birthday falls in the same month as Mother’s day. πŸ˜€ I had said in my post with the Mother’s day card for my Ma that she loved flowers. She absolutely loved that card. I thought of another flower garden card for her birthday too! πŸ™‚ And what better stamp set than the Altenew Golden Garden for the job! πŸ˜€

Happy Birthday, Ma

Since I was doing very light watercoloring, with little water, I chose normal cardstock, but since I wanted a little texture, Fabriano Elle Erre Bianca was the perfect choice.

Happy Birthday, Ma

Once I stamped the flowers from the stamp set in Versamark inks, I heat embossed them using Wow! Silver Pearl embossing powder. I then colored the panel using distress inks and Paper Trey Ink inks. Once the panel dried, I added splatters of Deco Art Glamour Dust Ultra Fine Glitter Paint in gold.

Happy Birthday, Ma

Coming to the background. My initial idea was to have the flowery panel on the whole card, but somehow I ended up die cutting it, and then not liking the idea of adding it on a plain card base. I thought of q few ideas, and in the end went with a gold painted striped background. I used Fevicryl Sparkling Pearl colors acrylic paint in gold – such a beautiful sparkling gold, you wouldn’t believe it! πŸ™‚ Loved it. So, once the background was dry, I foam mounted the flower garden panel.

Happy Birthday, Ma

For the sentiment, I used the Happy die cut from Mama Elephant, cutting it from the same card stock and then from some white foam. I used Zig two way glue. I usually use liquid medium for adhering, since I am not good with alignment. This time I chose this because, one, it is like a spongy stick and there were no chances of the glue seeping out and two, it is a pretty good glue. I think I’ll be using this glue for adhering little die cut sentiments from now on! πŸ˜€

And before I forget, as I am prising my new glue stick, the stamped and embossed in white sentiment is from Paper Trey Ink.

Happy Birthday, Ma

And finally, my handmade envelope. I made a different kind of envelope this time. The kind you get if you use We R Memory Keepers’ Punch Board. I cut out a template for myself this time, so its easy to make more.

So, I used PTI Classic Kraft ink to stamp the flowers on the envelope, along with the sentiment from Altenew Painted Greetings, stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black. I then added a few dots and also colored a few of the flowers using my Unibal Signo gel pen in gold.

So that’s my card for my Ma’s birthday! Hope she likes it! πŸ™‚

Submitting this card to the following challenges – Seven Hills Crafts: May Theme Challenge: Embossing, Seize The Birthday: Dimension, Simon Says Stamp: Work It Wednesday: April: Flowers

Seize The Birthday - The Toppings

SSS - Work It Wednesday

Thank you so much for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “#479 – Happy Birthday Ma!!

    • You know, I was thinking about a wild garden when I painted this – but cottage garden seems to fit right in too! πŸ™‚ Thank you Aileen!

  1. Absolutely gorgeous card – love how you used the emboss resist with the watercolor. I’m sure your mom squealed in joy when she took it out of the envelope πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for playing in our Seven Hills Crafts challenge this month – I hope we’ll seen you again with your creations next month!

    Julia

  2. Oh I can’t imagine any mother not LOVING this! It is gorgeous and that you made a perfect envelope too just shows love above and beyond! Well done! Thank you for sharing at Seize the Birthday!

  3. Gorgeous card Ashwini, it’s very cheerful card with some gorgeous colors. I am sure your mom would have loved it.
    Looks like May is important for you too. Tomorrow happens to be my daughter’s birthday and my parents wedding anniversary ☺

  4. Such a gorgeous card, Ashwini! I’m sure your mother loved this beautiful card and envelope. Love the gold stripes, they give a stylish look to this beauty.
    Thank you for subscribing my blog, but for now I can’t confirm subscriptions… this is a new world to me, so please be a little patient.

    • Thank you very much Cris!! My Ma did love this – co-incidentally all our cards (my Papa, my sis and me) had yellow as the main color – that was fun too! πŸ™‚
      I was overjoyed at you starting a blog, so I can definitely wait a little! πŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Absolutely gorgeous! Love everything about it! My Mom’s birthday is around Mother’s Day always too. Thanks for playing along with Seize the Birthday.

Leave a Reply

