#481 – Thanks For Being So Wonderful

Hello!

Even though I have essentially decreased my card making time, there’s one challenge that I don’t want to miss – CASometry Challenge from Anna (Umichka). I’ve already submitted two cards (here and here) and I absolutely didn’t want to discontinue. And its an awesome challenge too – Make 5 – making 5 CAS cards using the same stamp set.

The stamp set I chose is WPlus9 Happy Mail. Its time for round 3 from the CASometry: Make 5 challenge, and here’s my submission for this time –

Thanks for being so wonderful

Since the challenge called for using one stamp set for all cards, I thought to try and use all of the images in the stamp set (except the sentiments – I usually end up using those in some card or other.. :P) For the last two takes, I had already used most of the critters in the stamp set, except for the birds. And that was the main focus time time!

Thanks for being so wonderful

I paired Penny Black Birdie Bungalows stamp with the tiny birds. The technique is kind of an inverse of what I did last time – this time, I colored most of the elements, and left just one element uncolored – two in my case – the bird houses and the flowers.

Coming back to the card – I stamped all the images and the sentiment using Memento Tuxedo Black and colored everything using my Faber Castell oil pastels, using baby oil to smudge the colors and blend them. I love the effect – I feel like they are cherry blossoms, even though I haven’t colored the flowers at all! 😉

Thanks for being so wonderful

Once I had done the coloring, I drew the line on which the birds are standing using Copic 0.3 Multi-liner and also reimposed some of the stamped images, which were obscured due to the coloring. I then die cut the panel using My Favorite Things Pinking Edge Rectangles and foam mounted it on the card base.

Also submitting my card to SSS Wednesday Challenge: Anything Goes and Just Us Girls #313: Just Add ‘B’ (I’ve added birds, branches and bird houses) –

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

On a side note, I guess many of us have a practice of testing our ideas on scraps before making the actual card? I made one just to test my idea for this card, and couldn’t help feeling that the scrap was looking better than the actual version!! (By the way, I don’t always try the entire design – I just did this time since I wanted to check the coloring using the oil pastels). To tell the truth, even after making the entire design, I trashed two cards before and changed it from a vertically aligned to a horizontally aligned card.. 😀

Thanks for being so wonderful (scrap)

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

26 thoughts on “#481 – Thanks For Being So Wonderful

  1. Lovely ..actually cute card Ashwini ! I loved the pretty colors in bg a lot ! Ohh you try entire design on scrap paper first ?? Perfection !

    • Thank you Pooja!! Wait, wait.. I don’t try the entire design – I just did this time, since I wanted to check the coloring from the oil pastels. Else, I just stamp the main elements, that’s it! 🙂

  2. Oh, love to see that you are in a creative spree… and no one can stop a crafty girl in those circumstances, right? :D.
    This is a sweet and beautiful card, Ashwini! I agree, the oil pastel colors that you used for the background and the little flowers feel like cherry blossoms. Happy that you changed the alignment, it looks better this way. I didn’t know that Anna was running a challenge, and I admire her work so much… I’ll have to check it out.

    • Thank you so much Cris! 🙂 Glad you agree about the cherry blossoms! 😀
      And do check out the challenge – even the other submissions are totally worth checking out! 🙂

  3. This so cute Ashwini. Your sweet little birds are just the perfect pop of colour. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink.

  4. Ashwini, this is just beautiful! I love the sweet birds and bird houses, your gorgeous application of colour, and the pinking edge rectangle die cut. Thanks for joining in the fun at Just Add Ink this week!

  5. Very cute – I like how you have coloured your card – putting the boldest colours into your birds. Lovely images. Chantell JAI

  6. Ashwini your card is super sweet. I love your colouring – the smudging has worked beautifully. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Just Add Ink this week. x

  7. Pingback: #492 – A Sketchy Critter Show | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  8. Pingback: #499 – CASometry Challenge 2: Final | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a Reply

