#488 – Happy Father’s Day

PE: Winner at Stampin’ Royalty!!

Stampin' Royalty Winner

Winner at As You See It!!

As You See It - winner

I delayed making Father’s day this time so much, I started thinking I might never get it done on time! My cards usually consist of flowers or critters – and when I look at the cards claimed to be masculine, I never saw them in it. OK, critters sometimes, maybe, but not flowers.. Most of them were had fishing, sailing, tool kits.. you name it! But no flowers. I have nothing against those cards, but I couldn’t connect them with my Papa. He doesn’t do fishing/sailing, or any of those.. and I became a little skeptical as to what to create.. which in turn made me take a lot of time to make a card.

And I ended up with using flowers in my card! Frankly, when I sat down and thought about it, I couldn’t see what was wrong with using flowers in a masculine card. I mean, my Papa doesn’t have anything against flowers! With this thought, I made this card –

Happy Father's Day

I chose Fabriano Elle Erre Ferro card stock. I used my MISTI to position and stamp the flowers from Altenew Persian Motifs, since I needed to stamp the flowers twice, before and after coloring. Once I stamped the flowers using Hero Arts Unicorn White pigment ink, I colored the flowers using Prismacolor black and white pencils with Faber Castell Polychromos color pencils in grey. Once I finished coloring, I restamped the image, since some of the lines were obscured during the coloring.

Happy Father's Day

Once this was dry, (I got a small smudge from the fresh pigment while I was coloring, so I waited till it was dry after that) I stamped the sentiment from Winnie & Walter The Big, The Bold and The Happy in the same pigment ink. Keeping the card simple, I didn’t add any other embellishments.

Happy Father's Day

For the envelope, I used black color paper and stamped the sentiment first and then the same two flowers, using Memento Tuxedo Black ink all over the paper and the then folded and adhered the sides of the envelope.

So that’s my ‘flowery’ masculine card. How do you like it? πŸ™‚

Submitting this card to Paru’s Card Making Challenge: June: Father’s Day, As You See It Challenge: #136: Dad, SSS Wednesday Challenge: Father’s Day/Card for a Guy, Stampin’ Royalty #333: One Layer Cards, Word Art Wednesday #234-235 – Anything Goes andΒ CropStop Linky Party #17: Anything Goes

AYSIChallenge136

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

 

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

Save

35 thoughts on “#488 – Happy Father’s Day

  1. Ditto !! When I see sailboats ,navy ,anchor ,can’t relate it to guys around me πŸ™‚ and when it comes to my father flowers are perfect as he loves gardening:) I loved the Elegance of your card..black ,white n lovely texture !

  2. What I think about it is that it is utterly fabulous! I agree with you that so often supposedly ‘masculine’ sets of stamps have no resonance at all with my menfolk. This card is elegant and stylish. The same colourway that gives it such elegance also makes it just right for a man, I love how the texture of the paper adds even more dimension to the flowers. Thanks for joining us at As You See It.

    • Thank you so much Jan! You just listed out all that I couldn’t put up there in the post! I feel so happy when I find someone understand my cards the same way I thought of them.. like ‘Yaayyy!! πŸ˜€ Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  3. I can relate to you Ashwini, as long as I know most Indian fathers are not into sailing, fishing or other things…maybe a office setup would be better for my father. That being said, he loves flowers, so I always give him cards with colorful flowers.
    There is no right or wrong with cards, as long as we know that the recipient will like it.
    Onto your card, keeping monochromatic is also a great masculine card choice, the flowers are stamped beautifully and a matching envelope, your father will love it.

    • I totally agree with you, Rahmat – only since my father’s retired, I no longer associate office with him either! πŸ˜€ But you are right, and I hope the card makes him happy! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for your comments on my card too! πŸ™‚

  4. This card and envelope are wonderful, Ashwini! Your father will love it for sure! I guess that a good card for a man is a card from someone he loves, it doesn’t really matter if there are flowers or tools, or fishing scenes in it :). In fact sometimes this hobby makes me wonder… why should I make a typical masculine card to tell my husband that I love him, for instance, if I am a girl? To me it doesn’t make much sense showing my feelings using an image of a boat, or a car, or something like that… besides, to whom will I make cards that have red hearts stamped?
    P.S. – Thank you for letting me know about CIC! It was a great surprise after a week off :)!

    • Thank you so much Cris!! I can see more and more people telling me its completely ok to not use the ‘traditional’ images for making a masculine card – and that makes me so happy! I am glad you liked the CIC too! πŸ™‚

  5. Wonderful card design and I love the colors and the flowers. I am sure some lucky Dad will love this too!

  6. Wonderful art. Thank you so much for posting you creative and very lovely art in the #234-#235 – Anything Goes Word Art Wednesday Challenge.
    Blessings, Carole

  7. I’m with you, why not flowers? Thank you so much for posting you creative and very lovely art in the #234-#235 – Anything Goes Word Art Wednesday Challenge.
    Blessings, Carole

  8. Pingback: Featured Artists - As You See It Challenge 002

  9. Howdy! Beautiful! Card!! Dropping by to say Thank you so much for entering your art work into WAW this week Anything Goes Challenge – where you can upload 5 pieces each week – a total of 10 opportunities to win a prize! Happy Dance – it is a blessing to have you come by and join the challenge – may your day be filled with fun and laughter and leaving you with this message “The Lord is Good – All of the Time” Blessings, Gail WAW DT

  10. This is wonderful and love the flowers. Thank you for joining our Challenge last week and hope you join us again in our new Challenge beginning today at Word Art Wednesday. Leaving you with an encouragement from God’s Word in Hebrews 3:6 which says, “But Christ is faithful as the Son over God’s house. And we are His house, if we hold firmly to our confidence and the hope of which we boast.” Have a blessed week…

    JO ANN
    http://jatterburycreations.blogspot.com

  11. We appreciate your wonderful art, so creative and beautiful for either sex. Thank you for sharing with us in the #236-#237 – Word Art Wednesday AG Challenge.
    Blessings, Carole

Leave a Reply

